Metropolitan Regatta

Metropolitan Regatta

The Metropolitan Regatta is an international rowing regatta. It takes place on Dorney Lake, Buckinghamshire near Eton next to the River Thames in southern England. It attracts crews from schools, clubs and universities from around the United Kingdom, Europe and the United States. The Metropolitan Regatta was established in 1866 on the tideway through the initiative of Herbert Playford, captain of the London Rowing Club. The Regatta's first Hon. Secretary was Charles Dickens, Jr..

The four original challenge trophies, which have been joined by many others, are

  • The Metropolitan Champion Cup for Men's Elite Eights
  • The Thames Cup for Men's Elite Coxless Fours
  • The London Cup for Men's Elite Single Scullers
  • The Metropolitan Challenge Cup for Men's Senior 3 Eights

The entry details for the first three stated that "The above events are open to the world." The London Cup forms part of sculling's "triple crown" in conjunction with the Diamond Challenge Sculls and the Wingfield Sculls.

The Regatta ran until 1977 on a course between Putney and Hammersmith of a mile and three-quarters. The decision was taken to move the Regatta away from the Tideway and its traditional home, and it was relaunched in 1980 at Thorpe Park, Surrey. The first senior multi-lane regatta in the south-east of England was held on four-lanes over 1,500 metres among disused gravel pits. In 1988 the regatta was relocated to the Royal Albert Dock with a seven lane course and a distance of 1,750 metres. In 2001 the regatta moved to the international-standard course at Dorney Lake which has eight racing lanes over 2,000m and a separate channel for crews to go to the start.

Read more about Metropolitan RegattaSee Also

Famous quotes containing the word metropolitan:

    In metropolitan cases, the love of the most single-eyed lover, almost invariably, is nothing more than the ultimate settling of innumerable wandering glances upon some one specific object.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)