Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Eleanor Atwood, CC OOnt FRSC (born November 18, 1939) is a Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist. She is among the most-honoured authors of fiction in recent history. She is a winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and Prince of Asturias award for Literature, has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, winning once, and has been a finalist for the Governor General's Award seven times, winning twice. She is also a founder of the Writers' Trust of Canada, a non-profit literary organization that seeks to encourage Canada's writing community.

While she is best known for her work as a novelist, she is also a poet, having published fifteen books of poetry to date. Many of her poems have been inspired by myths and fairy tales, which have been interests of hers from an early age. Atwood has published short stories in Tamarack Review, Alphabet, Harper's, CBC Anthology, Ms., Saturday Night, and many other magazines. She has also published four collections of stories and three collections of unclassifiable short prose works.

Read more about Margaret AtwoodEarly Life, Personal Life, Critical Reception, Atwood and Science Fiction, Atwood and Feminism, Contribution To The Theorizing of Canadian Identity, Atwood and Animals, Chamber Opera, Political Involvement, Awards and Honours, Further Reading

Other articles related to "margaret atwood, atwood":

Margaret Atwood - Further Reading
... Margaret Atwood and Her Works ... "Margaret Atwood and Chaucer Truth and Lies," in Cahier Calin Makers of the Middle Ages ... Margaret Atwood A Biography ...
Trillium Book Award - Winners
... Alice Munro, Friend of My Youth 1991 - Margaret Atwood, Wilderness Tips 1992 - Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient 1993 - Jane Urquhart, Away and ...
Shannon E. Hengen - Chapters in Academic Books
... "Strange Visions Atwood’s Interlunar and Technopoetics." Margaret Atwood’s Textual Assassinations Recent Poetry and Fiction ... "Margaret Atwood's Nature." the Handmaid's Tale, Roman protéen ... "Dialogic Time and The Handmaid's Tale." The Handmaid's Tale Margaret Atwood ...
Frank Davey - Biography - Academic and Writing Career
... Jones and Margaret Atwood which he delivered at the founding conference of the Association for Canadian and Quebec Literatures in the spring of 1974 ... Two years earlier he had published the first study of Margaret Atwood's feminism Margaret Atwood A Feminist Poetics ...
List Of Fiction Set In Toronto - English - Novels
... Cabbagetown by Hugh Garner (1968) The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood (1969) A Fine and Private Place by Morley Callaghan (1975) The Rebel Angels by Robertson Davies (1981) The Martyrology ... Vassanji (1991) Headhunter by Timothy Findley (1993) The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood (1993) The Innocence of Age by Neil Bissoondath (1993) The Cunning Man by Robertson Davies (1994) How Insensitive by Russell ... Sawyer (1995) Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood (1996) Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels (1996) To Dance At The Palais Royale by Jane McNaughton (1996) Blue Limbo by Terence M ...

Famous quotes by margaret atwood:

    The beginning of Canadian cultural nationalism was not ‘Am I really that oppressed?’ but ‘Am I really that boring?’
    Margaret Atwood (b. 1939)