List of One Piece Episodes (season 2)

List Of One Piece Episodes (season 2)

The second season of the One Piece anime series was directed by Kōnosuke Uda and produced by Toei Animation. It contains a single story arc, called "Gurando Rain Totsunyū" (グランドライン突入?, lit. "Enter the Grand Line"), which adapts Eiichiro Oda's One Piece manga from shortly after the beginning of the 12th through the beginning of the 15th volumes over 15 episodes, following the first adventures of Monkey D. Luffy's Straw Hat Pirates in a fictional sea, called the Grand Line. Stuck in the bowels of the giant whale Laboon, they encounter the whale's caretaker, an old man named Crocus, and Nefeltari Vivi. Taking her with them, they make enemies of the Warlord Sir Crocodile's secret organization, Baroque Works, and befriend the giants Dorry and Broggy on the prehistoric island Little Garden.

The season initially ran from March 21 through August 19, 2001 on Fuji Television in Japan. In Video Research's audience measurements in the Kantō region, these initial airings received household ratings ranging from 12.5 to 17.2, which earned every episode a place in Video Research's weekly Top 10 ranking of anime shows. Toei Animation released the season's episodes on VHS in five compilations, each containing one cassette with three or four episodes, between April 3 and August 7, 2002 and on DVD in six compilations, each containing three episodes, between April 3 and September 4, 2002. In the English language adaptation of the series by former licensee 4Kids Entertainment, the season's 15 episodes were cut down to a mere four. They were first aired from July 30 though August 20, 2005 by the Fox Broadcasting Company as part of its Fox Box programing block and released on DVD in two compilations on August 28 and October 30, 2007 by Viz Video. The series' new licensee, Funimation Entertainment, released the season's episodes as part of their fifth and sixth uncut DVD compilations on June 30 and August 25, 2009.

Toei Animation's version makes use of four pieces of theme music: one opening theme and three ending themes. The opening theme is "Believe" by Folder5. The ending themes are "Run! Run! Run!" by Maki Otsuki for episode 63, "Watashi ga Iru Yo" (私がいるよ?, lit. "I Am Right Here!") by Tomato Cube until episode 73, and "Shouchi no Suke" (しょうちのすけ?, lit. "That's a Fact!") by Shōjo Suitei for the rest of the season. 4Kids Entertainment used original theme music in their adaptation, while Funimation Entertainment opted for English language versions of the theme music pieces used by Toei Animation.

Read more about List Of One Piece Episodes (season 2):  Episode List

Other related articles:

List Of One Piece Episodes (season 2) - Episode List
... Episodes of One Piece season 2)No ... orig. No. 4Kids)Title R R Original airdate Japan)Original airdate U.S)63 A Promise Between Men!Luffy and the Whale Vow to Meet Again! Otoko no Yakusoku!Rufi to Kujira Saikai no Chikai ...

Famous quotes containing the words episodes, piece and/or list:

    Twenty or thirty years ago, in the army, we had a lot of obscure adventures, and years later we tell them at parties, and suddenly we realize that those two very difficult years of our lives have become lumped together into a few episodes that have lodged in our memory in a standardized form, and are always told in a standardized way, in the same words. But in fact that lump of memories has nothing whatsoever to do with our experience of those two years in the army and what it has made of us.
    Václav Havel (b. 1936)

    I have a piece of great and sad news to tell you: I am dead.
    Jean Cocteau (1889–1963)

    I made a list of things I have
    to remember and a list
    of things I want to forget,
    but I see they are the same list.
    Linda Pastan (b. 1932)