List of New Jersey Devils Award Winners

List Of New Jersey Devils Award Winners

The New Jersey Devils are an American professional ice hockey team based in Newark, New Jersey. They are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference in the National Hockey League (NHL). The Devils entered the league as the Kansas City Scouts in 1974. After just two years in Kansas City, they moved to Denver, Colorado, where they were known as the Colorado Rockies. In 1982, the team moved again to New Jersey. They currently play their home games at the Prudential Center.

The franchise and its members have won numerous team and individual awards and honors. They have captured the Prince of Wales Trophy as the Eastern Conference playoff champion five times. The Devils won the Stanley Cup three times, in 1995, 2000 and 2003. Martin Brodeur is the team's most decorated player, having won the Vezina Trophy four times and the William M. Jennings Trophy five times, and the Calder Memorial Trophy once, along with several selections to the NHL First and Second All-Star teams. Scott Stevens played in ten National Hockey League All-Star Games, more than any player in team history.

Three players have had their numbers retired by the team. Scott Stevens' #4 and Ken Daneyko's #3 were removed from circulation in 2006 while Scott Niedermayer's #27 was retired in 2011. Stevens is also one of several Hockey Hall of Famers who were associated with the Devils. Joe Nieuwendyk, Doug Gilmour, Peter Stastny, Viacheslav Fetisov and Igor Larionov each spent time in New Jersey during their Hall of Fame careers, while coach Herb Brooks and general manager Lou Lamoriello have been inducted as builders. Longtime broadcaster Mike Emrick was enshrined in 2009 as a "Media honoree".

The Devils have four internal team awards. The Sharp Electronics Three-Star is awarded to the player who earns the most three-star selections throughout the season. The Hugh Delano Unsung Hero, the Devils' Players' Player, and the Most Valuable Devil are presented towards the end of each season.

Read more about List Of New Jersey Devils Award Winners:  Notes

Famous quotes containing the words list of, winners, award, list, jersey and/or devils:

    I made a list of things I have
    to remember and a list
    of things I want to forget,
    but I see they are the same list.
    Linda Pastan (b. 1932)

    The two real political parties in America are the Winners and the Losers. The people don’t acknowledge this. They claim membership in two imaginary parties, the Republicans and the Democrats, instead.
    Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (b. 1922)

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    A man’s interest in a single bluebird is worth more than a complete but dry list of the fauna and flora of a town.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    vanished into nowhere Zen New Jersey leaving a trail of ambiguous
    picture postcards of Atlantic City Hall,
    Allen Ginsberg (b. 1926)

    But something may be done that we will not,
    And sometimes we are devils to ourselves,
    When we will tempt the frailty of our powers,
    Presuming on their changeful potency.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)