List of Denver Broncos Seasons

List Of Denver Broncos Seasons

The Denver Broncos are an American football franchise. They are members of the American Football Conference West Division (AFC West) of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). The list documents their season-by-season records from 1960 to the present day, including post-season records, and league awards for individual players and head coaches. As of the end of the 2011 season, the team has completed 52 seasons and will be entering their 53rd at the start of the 2012 season. The Broncos franchise was founded on August 14, 1959 by Bob Howsam and played their first season in 1960, in Denver, Colorado as part of the original American Football League (AFL). The Broncos are 6-4. They became part of the NFL in 1970 after the AFL-NFL merger.

The franchise has experienced two major periods of success. The first was from 1976 to 1981, when the Broncos did not have a losing season (a season when the team has more losses than wins), and won two AFC West division titles, and one AFC championship. The second began in 1983 and ended in 1998. During this period, the Broncos had just two losing seasons, were AFC champions five times and Super Bowl champions for two consecutive years. This second period of success is best remembered for John Elway being the team's quarterback. The Denver Broncos have also experienced one notable period of deterioration. From their inaugural season in 1960 until 1975, they did not make the playoffs and had just two winning seasons. The Broncos were the only charter AFL franchise to never have a winning season during the AFL's 10 years of existence, with their first winning season not occurring until 1973, their fourth year as a member of the NFL's American Conference. They also experienced their two seasons with the most losses ever, winning just two of fourteen games in both 1963 and 1964.

The Broncos have been AFC West champions eleven times, and have also earned wild card berths into the playoffs seven times. They have been conference champions six times and Super Bowl champions twice. However, the Broncos did not make the AFL playoffs prior to the merger in 1970. As of the end of the 2011 season, the Broncos have played over 800 regular and post-season games in 52 seasons, and have appeared in the post-season eighteen times.

Read more about List Of Denver Broncos Seasons:  Seasons

Other articles related to "list of denver broncos seasons, list, season":

List Of Denver Broncos Seasons - Seasons
... Note The Finish, Wins, Losses, and Ties columns list regular season results and exclude any post-season play ... Berth Official NFL records as of April, 2012 AFL/NFL Season Team's season League Conference Division Regular season Post-season results Awards Finish Wins Losses Ties 1960 ... AFL West 4th 1961 ... AFL West ... ^b Due to the 1982 strike-shortened season, the league was broken up into two conferences instead of its normal divisional alignment ...

Famous quotes containing the words list of, seasons and/or list:

    I made a list of things I have
    to remember and a list
    of things I want to forget,
    but I see they are the same list.
    Linda Pastan (b. 1932)

    Bind us in time, O seasons clear, and awe.
    O minstrel galleons of Carib fire,
    Bequeath us to no earthly shore until
    Is answered in the vortex of our grave
    The seal’s wide spindrift gaze toward paradise.
    Hart Crane (1899–1932)

    Love’s boat has been shattered against the life of everyday. You and I are quits, and it’s useless to draw up a list of mutual hurts, sorrows, and pains.
    Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893–1930)