Frederik Pohl

Frederik Pohl

Frederik George Pohl, Jr. (born November 26, 1919) is an American science fiction writer, editor and fan, with a career spanning over seventy years — from his first published work, "Elegy to a Dead Planet: Luna" (1937), to his most recent novel, All the Lives He Led (2011).

From about 1959 until 1969, Pohl edited Galaxy and its sister magazine If; the latter won three successive annual Hugo Awards as the year's best professional magazine. His 1977 novel Gateway won four "year's best novel" awards: the Hugo voted by convention participants, the Locus voted by magazine subscribers, the Nebula voted by American science fiction writers, and the juried academic John W. Campbell Memorial Award. He won the Campbell Memorial Award again for the 1984 collection of novellas Years of the City, the only repeat winner in forty years. For his 1979 novel Jem, Pohl won a U.S. National Book Award in the one-year category Science Fiction. It was a finalist for three other year's best novel awards. In all he has won four Hugo and three Nebula Awards.

Pohl became a Nebula Grand Master in 1993 and he was inducted by the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 1998. He won the Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer in 2010, for his blog "The Way the Future Blogs".

Read more about Frederik PohlEarly Life and Family, Career

Other articles related to "frederik pohl, pohl":

Frederik Pohl - Bibliography - Works About Pohl
... Gateways Original New Stories Inspired by Frederik Pohl (2010), edited by Elizabeth Anne Hull Elizabeth Anne Hull, Introduction David Brin, “Shoresteading” Phyllis and Alex ... Neil Gaiman, “The Merchants” Emily Pohl-Weary, Appreciation Mike Resnick, “On Safari” Cory Doctorow, “Chicken Little” James Frenkel, Afterword ...
List Of X Minus One Episodes - 1956
... "Tunnel Under the World" March 14, 1956 Frederik Pohl (adapted by George Lefferts) 44 ... "Tunnel Under The World" (Rebroadcast) September 4, 1956 Frederik Pohl (adapted by George Lefferts) 68 ... "The Map Makers" September 26, 1956 Frederik Pohl (adapted by Ernest Kinoy) 70 ...
Science Fiction and Fantasy Fix-ups
... Schmitz The Forever War (1974) by Joe Haldeman Farthest Star (1975) by Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson A World Out of Time (1976) by Larry Niven In the Ocean of Night (1977) by Gregory Benford ... In the Drift (1984) by Michael Swanwick The Years of the City (1984) by Frederik Pohl The Book of the River (1984) by Ian Watson Emergence (1984) by David R ... Life During Wartime (1987) by Lucius Shepard The Day the Martians Came (1988) by Frederik Pohl The Lively Lives of Crispin Mobey (1988) by Gary Jennings (as Gabriel Quyth) Prince of ...
Works Published By Gnome Press
... Howard (1954) Undersea Quest, by Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson (1954) Mel Oliver and Space Rover on Mars, by William Morrison (1954) Northwest of Earth, by C.L ... Smith (1956) Undersea Fleet, by Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson (1956) Plague Ship, by Andrew North (1956) SF The Year's Greatest Science Fiction and Fantasy, edited by Judith ... Smith (1958) Starman's Quest, by Robert Silverberg (1958) Undersea City, by Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson (1958) Tros of Samothrace, by Talbot Mundy (1958) SF '58 ...
Jack Williamson - Bibliography - Series
... Ship (1951) (as by Will Stewart) Seetee Ship/Seetee Shock (1971) Undersea Trilogy (with Frederik Pohl) Undersea Quest (1954) Undersea Fleet (1956) Undersea City (1958 ...