Ensemble Modern

Ensemble Modern is a chamber ensemble dedicated to the music of modern composers. Formed in 1980, the group is based in Frankfurt, Germany and made up variously of about twenty members from numerous countries.

Ensemble Modern tours widely and has released many recordings, performing works by such composers as Charles Ives, Olivier Messiaen, Kurt Weill, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Conlon Nancarrow, Steve Reich, George Benjamin, Friedrich Goldmann, Elliott Sharp, Roberto Carnevale, Frank Zappa, Anthony Braxton, Heiner Goebbels, Harrison Birtwistle, Arnold Schoenberg, Hanspeter Kyburz, Pierre Boulez and many others. The group is highly regarded for its ability to play difficult music with complex rhythms and tempi. In 2003 the group received an ECHO.

Recordings with/of Frank Zappa music:

  • The Yellow Shark (recorded 1992, released 1993)
  • Everything Is Healing Nicely (recorded 1991, released 1999)
  • Ensemble Modern Plays Frank Zappa: Greggery Peccary & Other Persuasions (2003)

Other articles related to "ensemble modern":

Civilization Phaze III - Background
... In 1992, Zappa recorded The Yellow Shark with the Ensemble Modern orchestra, and sampled their instrumentation with his Synclavier ... "piano people" dialogue, Synclavier music, performances by the Ensemble Modern, and newly recorded dialogue ... The new dialogue speakers included members of the Ensemble Modern, Moon Zappa, Dweezil Zappa and actor Michael Rapaport ...

Famous quotes containing the word modern:

    There are moments when, faced with our lack of success, I wonder whether we are failures, proud but impotent. One thing reassures me as to our value: the boredom that afflicts us. It is the hall-mark of quality in modern men.
    Edmond De Goncourt (1822–1896)