Ed Chynoweth Cup

The Ed Chynoweth Cup is an ice hockey club championship trophy awarded to the playoff champion of the Western Hockey League (WHL). Originally called the President's Cup when the league was founded in 1966, the trophy was renamed in 2007 to honour Ed Chynoweth's long service to junior hockey in Canada. The WHL champion earns a berth into the Memorial Cup tournament, Canada's major junior championship. The Kamloops Blazers have won the most championships with six, followed by the Medicine Hat Tigers with five. The Spokane Chiefs were the first team to win the renamed trophy in the 2007–08 WHL season. The current holders of the Ed Chynoweth Cup are the Edmonton Oil Kings.

Read more about Ed Chynoweth CupHistory, List of Winners

Other articles related to "ed chynoweth cup, cup":

Ed Chynoweth Cup - List of Winners
... Season Winning team Losing team Games Memorial Cup result 1966–67 Moose Jaw Canucks Regina Pats 4–1 Ineligible 1967–68 Estevan Bruins Flin Flon ...

Famous quotes containing the word cup:

    Sunday morning may be cheery enough, with its extra cup of coffee and litter of Sunday newspapers, but there is always hanging over it the ominous threat of 3 P.M., when the sun gets around to the back windows and life stops dead in its tracks.
    Robert Benchley (1889–1945)