District Railway - History - London Passenger Transport Board, 1933

London Passenger Transport Board, 1933

[ ] District Railway (1933)
Extent of Railway at transfer to LPTB, 1933
Uxbridge Opened 1910
Hillingdon Opened 1923
Icekenham Opened 1910
Ruislip Opened 1910
Ruislip Manor Opened 1912
Eastcote Opened 1910
Rayners Lane Opened 1910
MR to Baker Street
South Harrow Opened 1903
Sudbury Hill 1903–32
Sudbury Town 1903–32
Alperton 1903–32
Park Royal & Twyford Abbey 1903–31
Park Royal 1931–32
North Ealing 1903–32
Windsor 1883–85
River Thames
Slough 1883–85
Langley 1883–85
West Drayton 1883–85
Hayes 1883–85
Southall 1883–85
Hanwell 1883–85
Castle Hill (Ealing Dene) 1883–85
Ealing Broadway Opened 1879
Ealing Common Opened 1879
Ealing Common depot
Hounslow West Opened 1884
Hounslow Branch
Hounslow Central Opened 1886
Hounslow Town 1883–1909
Hounslow East Opened 1909
Osterley & Spring Grove Opened 1883
Boston Manor Opened 1883
Northfields & Little Ealing 1908–32
Northfields Opened 1932
South Ealing Opened 1883
Acton Town Opened 1879
South Acton Opened 1905
Chiswick Park Opened 1879
Richmond Opened 1877
Richmond Branch
Richmond Branch
Kew Gardens Opened 1877
River Thames
Gunnersbury Opened 1877
Turnham Green Opened 1877
Stamford Brook Opened 1912
Ravenscourt Park Opened 1877
Hammersmith Opened 1874
Barons Court Opened 1905
West Kensington Opened 1874
Wimbledon Opened 1889
Wimbledon Branch
Wimbledon Branch
Wimbledon Park Opened 1889
Southfields Opened 1889
East Putney Opened 1889
River Thames
Putney Bridge Opened 1880
Parsons Green Opened 1880
Walham Green Opened 1880
West Brompton Opened 1869
West London Railway
Earl's Court Opened 1871
High Street Kensington
MR - Inner Circle
Gloucester Road Opened 1868
South Kensington Opened 1868
Sloane Square Opened 1868
Victoria Opened 1868
St James's Park Opened 1868
Westminster Opened 1868
Charing Cross Opened 1870
Temple Opened 1870
Blackfriars Opened 1870
Mansion House Opened 1871
Cannon Streeet Opened 1884
Monument Opened 1884
Mark Lane
MR - Inner Circle
Aldgate East Opened 1884
St Mary's (Whitechapel Road) Opened 1884
East London Railway
East London Railway
Shadwell 1884–1905
Wapping 1884–1905
River Thames
Rotherhithe 1884–1905
Surrey Docks 1884–1905
New Cross 1884–1905
Whitechapel Opened 1884
Stepney Green Opened 1902
Mile End Opened 1902
Bow Road Opened 1902
Bromley Opened 1902
West Ham (Manor Road) Opened 1902
Plaistow Opened 1902
Upton Park Opened 1902
East Ham Opened 1902
Reopened 1908
Upney Opened 1932
Becontree Opened 1932
Heathway Opened 1932
Reopened 1932
Reopened 1932
Reopened 1932
Upminster Depot
To Southend and Shoeburyness Started 1910

The UERL's ownership of the highly profitable London General Omnibus Company (LGOC) since 1912 had enabled the UERL group, through the pooling of revenues, to use profits from the bus company to subsidise the less profitable railways. However, competition from numerous small bus companies during the early 1920s eroded the profitability of the LGOC and had a negative impact on the profitability of the whole UERL group.

To protect the UERL group's income, its chairman Lord Ashfield lobbied the government for regulation of transport services in the London area. Starting in 1923, a series of legislative initiatives were made in this direction, with Ashfield and Labour London County Councillor (later MP and Minister of Transport) Herbert Morrison, at the forefront of debates as to the level of regulation and public control under which transport services should be brought. Ashfield aimed for regulation that would give the UERL group protection from competition and allow it to take substantive control of the LCC's tram system; Morrison preferred full public ownership. After seven years of false starts, a bill was announced at the end of 1930 for the formation of the London Passenger Transport Board (LPTB), a public corporation that would take control of the UERL, the Metropolitan Railway and all bus and tram operators within an area designated as the London Passenger Transport Area. The Board was a compromise – public ownership but not full nationalisation – and came into existence on 1 July 1933. On this date, ownership of the assets of the District and the other Underground companies transferred to the LPTB.

Read more about this topic:  District Railway, History

Other articles related to "1933":

Harry Pierpont - Pierpont's Tenure With Dillinger - First National Bank, St. Mary's Ohio, October 3, 1933
... On the morning of October 3, exactly one week after their escape, while the gang began loading into two cars for the robbery, Harry Copeland claimed he was too sick to drive, and Mary Kinder was asked if she would drive the second car for an equal share ... At 240 p.m ...
Harry Pierpont - Pierpont's Tenure With Dillinger - Days With The "Terror Gang" - American Bank & Trust Company, Racine, Wisconsin, November 20, 1933
... On November 16, one day after Dillinger and Frechette had escaped an attempted police ambush, the gang made the final details for the robbery of a bank in Racine, Wisconsin ... At the same time, Copeland's drinking and Shouse's womanizing was causing friction within the gang ...
Soviet Films Of 1933 - 1933
... Title Russian title Director Cast Genre Notes 1933 The Deserter Дезертир Vsevolod Pudovkin Drama Okraina Окраина Boris Barnet Drama ...

Famous quotes containing the words transport, london and/or passenger:

    One may disavow and disclaim vices that surprise us, and whereto our passions transport us; but those which by long habits are rooted in a strong and ... powerful will are not subject to contradiction. Repentance is but a denying of our will, and an opposition of our fantasies.
    Michel de Montaigne (1533–1592)

    To me Americanism means ... an imperative duty to be nobler than the rest of the world.
    —Meyer London (1871–1926)

    Every American travelling in England gets his own individual sport out of the toy passenger and freight trains and the tiny locomotives, with their faint, indignant, tiny whistle. Especially in western England one wonders how the business of a nation can possibly be carried on by means so insufficient.
    Willa Cather (1876–1947)