Democratic Republic of The Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (French: République démocratique du Congo), commonly referred to as DR Congo, Congo-Kinshasa or the DRC, is a country located in central Africa. It is the second largest country in Africa by area and the eleventh largest in the world. With a population of over 71 million, the Democratic Republic of the Congo is the nineteenth most populous nation in the world, the fourth most populous nation in Africa, as well as the most populous officially Francophone country.

It borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi in the east; Zambia and Angola to the south; the Republic of the Congo, the Angolan exclave of Cabinda, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west; and is separated from Tanzania by Lake Tanganyika in the east. The country has access to the ocean through a 40-kilometre (25 mi) stretch of Atlantic coastline at Muanda and the roughly 9 km wide mouth of the Congo River which opens into the Gulf of Guinea. It has the second-highest total Christian population in Africa.

The Second Congo War, beginning in 1998, devastated the country and is sometimes referred to as the "African world war" because it involved nine African nations and some twenty armed groups. Despite the signing of peace accords in 2003, fighting continues in the east of the country. In eastern Congo, the prevalence of rape and other sexual violence is described as the worst in the world. The war is the world's deadliest conflict since World War II, killing 5.4 million people since 1998. The vast majority died from conditions of malaria, diarrhea, pneumonia and malnutrition.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo was formerly, in chronological order, the Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, Congo-Léopoldville, Congo-Kinshasa, and Zaire (Zaïre in French). These former names are sometimes referred to as unofficial names, with the exception of Mobutu's discredited Zaire, along with various abbreviations such as DR Congo and DRC. Though it is located in the Central African UN subregion, the nation is also economically and regionally affiliated with Southern Africa as a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Read more about Democratic Republic Of The Congo:  Geography, Foreign Relations and Military, Economy, Health, Culture, Education, Transport, Flora and Fauna

Other articles related to "democratic republic of the congo, congo, democratic republic of":

List Of Passenger Airlines - List of Airlines - Africa - Democratic Republic of The Congo
... Business Aviation Compagnie Africaine d'Aviation Congo Express FlyCongo Korongo Airlines Wimbi Dira Airways ...
List Of Sets Of Four Countries That Border One Another - Africa - Rwanda, Uganda, Democratic Republic of The Congo, Tanzania
... DR Congo and Tanzania are separated by Lake Tanganyika ... Borders (km) Rwanda - 217 ... Uganda 169 - 396 ... DR Congo 765 ... - 459 Tanzania 459 ... - ...
Lubao, Democratic Republic Of The Congo
... Lubao is a town and territory in Kabinda District, Democratic Republic of the Congo ... It lies near the eastern bank of the Lomami River ...
Democratic Republic Of The Congo - Flora and Fauna
... The rainforests of the Democratic Republic of the Congo contain great biodiversity, including many rare and endemic species, such as the common chimpanzee and the bonobo (formerly known ... The Democratic Republic of the Congo is the most biodiverse African country ... The Democratic Republic of Congo is also home to some cryptids, such as Mokele mbembe ...

Famous quotes containing the words democratic and/or republic:

    It is the American vice, the democratic disease which expresses its tyranny by reducing everything unique to the level of the herd.
    Henry Miller (1891–1980)

    I have always considered it as treason against the great republic of human nature, to make any man’s virtues the means of deceiving him.
    Samuel Johnson (1709–1784)