Danish Krone

Danish Krone

The krone (plural: kroner; sign: ,- or kr.; code: DKK) has been the official currency of Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands, since 1 January 1875. Both the ISO code "DKK" and currency sign "kr." are in common use; the former precedes the value, the latter usually follows it. The currency is sometimes referred to as the Danish crown in English, since krone literally means crown.

One krone is subdivided into 100 øre (singular and plural), the name deriving from the Latin aureus. All-together there are eleven denominations of the krone, with the smallest being the 50-øre coin, which is valued at one half of a krone. Formerly there were more øre coins, but these were discontinued due to inflation.

The krone is pegged to the euro via the ERM II, the European Union's exchange rate mechanism. Adoption of the euro is favoured by the major political parties, however a 2000 referendum on joining the Eurozone was defeated with 46.8% voting yes and 53.2% voting no.

Read more about Danish Krone:  History, Banknotes, Nicknames, Exchange Rates

Other articles related to "krone, danish krone":

Greenlandic Krone
... The Greenlandic krone (Kalaallisut koruuni) was a planned currency for Greenland ... Currently, the Danish krone circulates ... The Greenland krone was not intended to be an independent currency but a version of the Danish krone ...

Famous quotes containing the word krone:

    I’ve been in one Derby, and this is my third Belmont. But I’ve never thought of the fact that I haven’t won a Triple Crown race. I’m not like that. I always look at the sunshine of things.
    —Julie Krone (b. 1963)