Crescent (John Coltrane Album)

Crescent (John Coltrane Album)

Crescent is a 1964 studio album by jazz musician John Coltrane, released by Impulse! as A-66. It features his jazz quartet group of McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones playing all original Coltrane compositions, with the leader playing tenor saxophone exclusively. It is commonly regarded as the saxophonist's darkest album. Only the brief, infectious medium-up "Bessie's Blues", and a samba-tinged groove in the midsection of the otherwise sedate "Wise One", break the sombre mood.

Read more about Crescent (John Coltrane Album):  Recording and Production, Legacy, Track Listing, Personnel

Other related articles:

Crescent (John Coltrane Album) - Personnel
... John Coltrane Quartet John Coltrane – band leader and tenor saxophone Jimmy Garrison – double bass Elvin Jones – drums McCoy Tyner – piano Technical personnel Nat Hentoff – liner notes Bob Thiele – production Rudy Van Gelder – mixing Compact Disc release Joe Alper – photography Michael Cuscuna – liner notes and production Eric Labson – remastering Chuck Stewart – photography. ...

Famous quotes containing the word crescent:

    On me your voice falls as they say love should,
    Like an enormous yes. My Crescent City
    Is where your speech alone is understood.
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)