Congo Kinshasa

Congo Kinshasa

Coordinates: 2°52′48″S 23°39′22″E / 2.88°S 23.656°E / -2.88; 23.656

Democratic Republic of the Congo République démocratique du Congo (French)
Flag Coat of arms
Motto: "Justice – Paix – Travail" (French)
"Justice – Peace – Work"
Anthem: Debout Congolais (French)
Arise, Congolese
and largest city
4°19′S 15°19′E / 4.317°S 15.317°E / -4.317; 15.317
Official languages French
Recognised national languages
  • Lingala
  • Kikongo
  • Swahili
  • Tshiluba
Ethnic groups See Ethnic groups section below
Demonym Congolese
Government Semi-presidential republic
- President Joseph Kabila
- Prime Minister Augustin Matata Ponyo
Legislature Parliament
- Upper house Senate
- Lower house National Assembly
- from Belgium 30 June 1960
- Total 2,345,409 km (11th)
905,355 sq mi
- Water (%) 4.3
- 2013 estimate 75,507,308 (19th)
- Density 29.3/km (182nd)
75.9/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
- Total $25.262 billion
- Per capita $348
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
- Total $15.668 billion
- Per capita $216
HDI (2013) 0.304
low · 186tha
Currency Congolese franc (CDF)
Time zone WAT and CAT (UTC+1 to +2)
- Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1 to +2)
Drives on the right
Calling code +243
ISO 3166 code CD
Internet TLD .cd
a. Lowest ranked.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (French: République démocratique du Congo), sometimes referred to as DR Congo, Congo-Kinshasa or the DRC, is a country located in central Africa. It is the second largest country in Africa by area and the eleventh largest in the world. With a population of over 75 million, the Democratic Republic of the Congo is the nineteenth most populous nation in the world, the fourth most populous nation in Africa, as well as the most populous officially Francophone country.

It borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi in the east; Zambia and Angola to the south; the Republic of the Congo, the Angolan exclave of Cabinda, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west; and is separated from Tanzania by Lake Tanganyika in the east. The country has access to the ocean through a 40-kilometre (25 mi) stretch of Atlantic coastline at Muanda and the roughly 9 km wide mouth of the Congo River which opens into the Gulf of Guinea. It has the second-highest total Christian population in Africa.

The Second Congo War, beginning in 1998, devastated the country and is sometimes referred to as the "African world war" because it involved nine African nations and some twenty armed groups. Despite the signing of peace accords in 2003, fighting continued in the east of the country in 2007. There, the prevalence of rape and other sexual violence is described as the worst in the world. The war is the world's deadliest conflict since World War II, killing 5.4 million people since 1998. More than 90% were not killed in combat. They died from diseases that were both preventable and treatable (malaria, diarrhea, pneumonia and malnutrition) aggravated by displaced populations living in unsanitary and over-crowded conditions that lacked access to shelter, water, food and medicine. Forty seven percent of those deaths were children under five.

Greed for control of the mineral wealth is behind some of the most violent atrocities.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo was formerly, in chronological order, the Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, Congo-Léopoldville, Congo-Kinshasa, and Zaire (Zaïre in French). Though it is located in the Central African UN subregion, the nation is also economically and regionally affiliated with Southern Africa as a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Read more about Congo Kinshasa:  Etymology, Geography, Foreign Relations and Military, Economy, Crime and Law Enforcement, Culture

Other articles related to "congo kinshasa, congo, kinshasa":

Congo Kinshasa - Culture - Sports
... There are a variety of sports in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, such as Football, Rugby, as well as others ...
Military Of The Democratic Republic Of The Congo - History - Zaire 1971–1997
... battalions, and a gendarmerie battalion attached, and the 2nd Groupement (Kinshasa), the 3rd Groupement (Kisangani), the 4th Groupement (Lubumbashi), the 5th Groupement (Bukavu), the 6th Groupement (Mbanda ... acting ostensibly at least as the Front pour la Libération Nationale du Congo (Front for the National Liberation of the Congo), occupied Zaire's Katanga ... throughout the country instead of keeping them close to Kinshasa, as had previously been the case ...