Burmese Democracy Movement

Burmese Democracy Movement

The National League for Democracy (Burmese: အမျိုးသား ဒီမိုကရေစီ အဖွဲ့ချုပ်, ) is a Burmese political party founded on 27 September 1988. House Representative and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Aung San Suu Kyi serves as its General Secretary. The party won a substantial parliamentary majority in the 1990 Burmese general election. However, the ruling military junta refused to recognise the result. On 6 May 2010, the party was declared illegal and ordered to be disbanded by the junta after refusing to register for the elections slated for November 2010. In November 2011, the NLD announced its intention to register as a political party in order to contend future elections and on 13 December 2011, Burma's Union Election Commission approved their application for registration. In the 2012 by-elections, except for one seat lost to SNDP (Kyar Phyu Party), NLD won 43 seats in which it had contested 44 seats, out of the 45 seats where elections were held. Party leader Aung San Suu Kyi won from the seat of Kawhmu.

Read more about Burmese Democracy Movement:  History, Party Platform, Party Symbols

Other articles related to "burmese democracy movement":

Burmese Democracy Movement - Party Symbols
... The party flag features the peacock, a prominent symbol of Burma ... The Dancing Peacock (the Peacock in courtship or in display of his feathers) was numerously featured in Burma monarchic flags as well as other nationalist symbols in the country ...

Famous quotes containing the words movement and/or democracy:

    The writer may very well serve a movement of history as its mouthpiece, but he cannot of course create it.
    Karl Marx (1818–1883)

    I confess I enjoy democracy immensely. It is incomparably idiotic, and hence incomparably amusing.
    —H.L. (Henry Lewis)