Biathlon World Championships

Biathlon World Championships

The first Biathlon World Championships (BWCH) was held in 1958, with individual and team contests for men. The number of events has grown significantly over the years. Beginning in 1984, women biathletes had their own World Championships, and finally, from 1989, both genders have been participating in joint BWCHs. In 1978 the development was enhanced by the change from the large army rifle calibre to a small bore rifle, while the range to the target was reduced from 150 to 50 meters.

Read more about Biathlon World ChampionshipsBWCH Venues, Total Medals By Country

Other articles related to "biathlon world, biathlon world championships, championships, world":

Éva Tófalvi - Results
... Event Discipline Pos Date Season 2011-12 Biathlon World Cup Holmenkollen Mass start 28 05/02/2012 2011/2012 2011-12 Biathlon World Cup Nové Město na ...
Biathlon World Championships 2009
... The 43rd Biathlon World Championships were held in Pyeongchang, South Korea from February 13 to February 22, 2009 ... It was the first time that the Biathlon World Championships were held in Asia (outside of Asian Russia) ... All the events during this championships also counted for the 2008–09 Biathlon World Cup season ...
Miriam Gössner - Record - Biathlon World Championships
... Gössner made her debut at the Biathlon World Championships at the 2011 competition in Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia ... in the sprint and pursuit races, she won her first world title in the women's relay, claiming the gold medal alongside Andrea Henkel, Tina Bachmann and Magdalena Neuner ...
Tora Berger - Record - Individual Victories
... Date Event Competition Level 2007 Kontiolahti 10 km Pursuit Biathlon World Cup 2008 Oberhof 7.5 km Sprint Biathlon World Cup 2009 Antholz 7.5 km Sprint Biathlon World Cup 2009 Trondheim 12.5 ...

Famous quotes containing the word world:

    Be it only for a day, it is still a glory without equal to be master of the world just that day.
    Pierre Corneille (1606–1684)