The Archipelago of the Azores ( /əˈzɔrz/ ə-ZORZ, /ˈeɪzɔrz/ AY-zorz; Portuguese: Açores, ) is composed of nine volcanic islands situated in the North Atlantic Ocean, and is located about 1,500 km (930 mi) west of Lisbon and about 1,900 km (1,200 mi) southeast of Newfoundland. The islands, and their Exclusive Economic Zone, form the Autonomous Region of the Azores, one of the two autonomous regions of Portugal. Its main industries are agriculture, dairy farming (for cheese and butter products primarily), livestock ranching, fishing, and tourism, which is becoming the major service activity in the region. In addition to this, the government of the Azores employs a large percentage of the population directly or indirectly in many aspects of the service and tertiary sectors.

There are nine major Azores islands and an islet cluster, in three main groups. These are Flores and Corvo, to the west; Graciosa, Terceira, São Jorge, Pico, and Faial in the centre; and São Miguel, Santa Maria, and the Formigas Reef to the east. They extend for more than 600 km (370 mi) and lie in a northwest-southeast direction.

The vast extent of the islands defines an immense exclusive economic zone of 1,100,000 km2 (420,000 sq mi). The westernmost point of this area is 3,380 km (2,100 mi) from the North American continent. All the islands have volcanic origins, although some, such as Santa Maria, have had no recorded activity since the islands were settled. Mount Pico, on the island of Pico, is the highest point in Portugal, at 2,351 m (7,713 ft). The Azores are actually some of the tallest mountains on the planet, measured from their base at the bottom of the ocean to their peaks, which thrust high above the surface of the Atlantic.

Because these once-uninhabited and remote islands were settled sporadically over a span of two centuries, their culture, dialect, cuisine, and traditions vary considerably.

Read more about AzoresHistory, Politics, Culture

Other articles related to "azores":

Legislative Assembly Of The Autonomous Region Of The Azores
... The Legislative Assembly of the Azores (Portuguese Assembleia Legislativa dos Açores) is the regional assembly/legislature of the Azores, an autonomous region of Portugal ...
Corribee - Significant Voyages
... sailor, sailed single handed to Ponta Delgada, Azores in his Coromandel 3M Mariner ... As part of the 2008 Jester Azores Challenge Roger Taylor sailed from Plymouth to Praia da Vitória, Azores in his junk-rigged Corribee, Mingming, finishing in ...
Terceira Rift
... The Terceira Rift is a geological rift located amidst the Azores islands in the Atlantic Ocean ... It runs between the Azores Triple Junction to the west and the Azores-Gibraltar Transform Fault to the southeast ...
Azores - Culture
... in Ponta Delgada on the island of São Miguel is the largest individual religious event in the Azores, and takes place on the fifth Sunday after Easter ... culminating in the procession which is televised within the Azores and to the Portuguese diaspora ... Carnaval is also celebrated in the Azores ...