Archbishop of Armagh

The Archbishop of Armagh is an archiepiscopacy in two of the main Christian churches in Ireland. It takes its name after the city of Armagh in Northern Ireland. The ordinary also holds the title of Primate of All Ireland. Since the Reformation, parallel successions to the archiepiscopal see have taken place in the Church of Ireland and the Roman Catholic Church.

In the Church of Ireland, the Archbishop is the ecclesiastical head of the Church of Ireland and the diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Armagh. The present archbishop is the Most Reverend Richard Clarke, who took office 15 December 2012.

In the Roman Catholic Church, the Archbishop is His Eminence Cardinal Seán Brady, DCL, who is the ecclesiastical head of the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland, metropolitan of the Province of Armagh and the ordinary of the Archdiocese of Armagh. He succeeded on 1 October 1996 and was installed at St Patrick's Cathedral (Roman Catholic) on 3 November 1996. He was created a cardinal in a consistory at St. Peter's Basilica on 24 November 2007.

Read more about Archbishop Of Armagh:  History, Early Abbots and Bishops of Armagh, Pre-Reformation Archbishops

Other articles related to "archbishop of armagh, archbishops, armagh, archbishop":

Archbishop Of Armagh - Post-Reformation Archbishops - Roman Catholic Succession
... Roman Catholic Archbishops of Armagh From Until Ordinary Notes. 23 July 1539 after Cromer's death, Wauchop was consecrated archbishop 17 March 1545 died 15 August 1551. 1818 ... Richard O'Reilly Appointed coadjutor archbishop 26 February 1782 succeeded 11 November 1787 died 31 January 1818 ...

Famous quotes containing the word archbishop:

    The archbishop is away. The church is gray.
    He has left his robes folded in camphor
    And, dressed in black, he walks
    Among fireflies.
    Wallace Stevens (1879–1955)