48th (South Midland) Division

The British 48th (South Midland) Division was a Territorial Force division. Originally called the 'South Midland Division', it was redesignated as the 48th Division in 1915. During the Second World War it was named the 48th (South Midland) Infantry Division

Read more about 48th (South Midland) Division:  World War I Formation, Commanders

Other related articles:

48th (South Midland) Division - Commanders
... June 1915 - June 1918 Major-General Sir Robert Fanshawe October 1941 Major-General Arthur Grassett December 1941 Major-General Hayman Hayman-Joyce February 1961 Major-General John Worsley. ...

Famous quotes containing the word division:

    Imperialism is capitalism at that stage of development at which the dominance of monopolies and finance capitalism is established; in which the export of capital has acquired pronounced importance; in which the division of the world among the international trusts has begun, in which the division of all territories of the globe among the biggest capitalist powers has been completed.
    Vladimir Ilyich Lenin (1870–1924)