World Lacrosse Championship

The World Lacrosse Championship (WLC) is the world championship for international men's field lacrosse. From its inception in 1967 through the 2006 event, it was sanctioned by the International Lacrosse Federation (ILF). In 2008, the ILF merged with the former governing body for women's lacrosse, the International Federation of Women's Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA), to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). Future World Championships will be sanctioned by FIL.

The WLC began as a four-team invitational tournament which coincided with Canada's centennial lacrosse celebration in 1967. Seven years later, Australia celebrated its lacrosse centenary, and the USA fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament. It was here that the concept of holding a World Championship tournament every four years was born. The championship has not left North America since the tournament started, with the USA capturing nine victories and Canada the other two. The 2010 championships featured a record twenty-nine competing nations.

Read more about World Lacrosse Championship2006 Championship, 2010 Championship, World Lacrosse Championship History

Other articles related to "lacrosse, world lacrosse championships, world lacrosse championship, world, championship, lacrosse championship":

John Grant, Jr. - International Lacrosse Career
... In 2006, Grant along with Gary Gait led the Canadian national lacrosse team to an historic victory in the ILF World Lacrosse Championships, with Grant leading the tournament in points and assists, and ... following events 1998 - Member of Team Canada, finalists in the 1998 World Lacrosse Championship in Baltimore, Maryland ... Heritage Cup in Mississauga, Ontario and 2002 World Lacrosse Championship 2003 - Member of Team Canada, winners of the World Indoor Lacrosse ...
2008 ILF Men's U-19 World Lacrosse Championship - Teams
... The 2008 tournament saw twelve nations competing in the championship ... and the "Red Division" consisting of nations where lacrosse is still developing ... six elite teams the United States had won each of the International Lacrosse Federation's Under-19 World Lacrosse Championship tournaments since its inception in 1988, Canada led by ...
1998 World Lacrosse Championship Final
... The 1998 World Lacrosse Championship final between Canada and the United States was the deciding match in the 1998 World Lacrosse Championship and has been ...
Paul Rabil - Awards and Achievements
2005 USILA Third Team All-American 2005 NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship Winner (Johns Hopkins Blue Jays) 2006 USILA First Team All-American 2007 USILA First Team All-American 2007 NCAA Men's ...

Famous quotes containing the word world:

    All of the valuable qualities ... like helping in the development of others—will not get you to the top at General Motors, were that path open to women.... The characteristics most highly developed in women and perhaps most essential to human beings are the very characteristics that are specifically dysfunctional for success in the world as it is.... They may, however, be the important ones for making the world different.
    Jean Baker Miller (20th century)