Wigan Warriors

Wigan Warriors

Wigan Warriors Rugby League Football Club is a professional rugby league club based in Wigan, Greater Manchester, England. The club's competes in the Stobart Super League and are the current League Leader's Shield holders.

Founded in 1872, Wigan was a founding member of the Northern Rugby Football Union following the schism from the Rugby Football Union in 1895. Wigan is the most successful club in the history of British rugby league, having won 19 League Championships (including 2 Super League Grand Finals), 18 Challenge Cups and 3 World Club Challenge trophies. The club is the fourth most successful in the Super League era, behind St Helens, Bradford and Leeds.

Wigan had a period of sustained success from the mid-1980s to the mid-1990s, winning the Challenge Cup eight seasons in succession and the League Championship seven seasons in succession.

The club plays its home matches at the DW Stadium, having played at Central Park between 1902-1999.

The current head coach is Shaun Wane. Iestyn Harris and Paul Deacon are assistant coaches. The club captain is Sean O'Loughlin.

Read more about Wigan Warriors:  Colours, Kits and Sponsorships, Stadiums, Honours, 2013 Squad, 2013 Transfers, Supporters, Rivalries, In The Community, Trivia

Other articles related to "wigan warriors, wigan":

Shaun Ainscough - Wigan Warriors - 2010 Season
... and in December 2009, he was confirmed as a player in Wigan's first team for the 2010 season ... Before the 2010 season started, Wigan signed a dual registration agreement with Co-operative Championship side Widnes Vikings for Ainscough and his team-mate, Liam Farrell ... allowed Ainscough to play for Widnes whenever a place in Wigan's seventeen-man squad was unavailable, with the exception of Challenge Cup matches ...
Luke Gale - Bradford Bulls
... in three consecutive games from Round 1 (Catalans Dragons) to Round 3 (Wigan Warriors) ... Leeds Rhinos (5 goals), Wakefield Wildcats (7 goals), Wigan Warriors (5 goals), Widnes Vikings (5 goals), Hull KR (6 goals), Huddersfield Giants (1 try, 5 ... He returned in Round 21 (Wigan Warriors) ...
Super League Records - Individual Records - Most Tries in A Super League Regular Season
... Danny McGuire Leeds Rhinos 31 ... Josh Charnley Wigan Warriors 29 ... Ryan Hall Leeds Rhinos 29 ... Pat Richards Wigan Warriors 28 ... Paul Newlove St Helens RLFC 1996 ...
St Helens RFC - Rivalries - Wigan Warriors
... There is a strong rivalry between St Helens and Wigan the local derby between the two clubs has been traditionally regarded as the biggest in British rugby ... won 141, there have been 19 draws and Wigan have won 206 ... St Helens winning 29-16 in 2000, with Wigan gaining revenge in 2010, with a 22-10 win ...
Wigan Warriors - Trivia
... Wigan were the first rugby league club to win at Wembley Stadium ... Wigan are the only club to win the Challenge Cup 8 times in a row (1988–1995) ... Wigan have appeared in twenty nine Challenge Cup finals, winning eighteen ...

Famous quotes containing the word warriors:

    Those who consider the Devil to be a partisan of Evil and angels to be warriors for Good accept the demagogy of the angels. Things are clearly more complicated.
    Milan Kundera (b. 1929)