What is yuan dynasty?

Yuan Dynasty

The Yuan Dynasty (Chinese: 元朝, Yuán Cháo, jyun4 ciu4; Classical Mongolian: Dai Ön Yeke Mongghul Ulus; Modern Mongolian: Их Юань улс) was the empire established by Kublai Khan, the leader of Mongolian Borjigin clan, after Mongol conquered Jin and Southern Song Dynasty in China. Although the Mongols had ruled territories, which included today's northern China for decades, it was not until 1271 that Kublai Khan officially proclaimed the dynasty in the traditional Chinese style. His realm – the Great Yuan Empire ( 大元帝國, 大元帝国, Dà Yuán Dìguó) – was by this point isolated from the other khanates and controlled only most of present-day China and its surrounding areas including modern Mongolia. It was the first foreign dynasty to rule all of China and lasted until 1368, after which its remnants in Mongolia were known as the Northern Yuan.

Read more about Yuan Dynasty.