What is orkney?


Orkney (Scottish Gaelic: Arcaibh) also known as the Orkney Islands (and sometimes "the Orkneys", a name which locals disparage), is an archipelago in northern Scotland, 16 kilometres (10 mi) north of the coast of Caithness. Orkney comprises approximately 70 islands of which 20 are inhabited. The largest island, known as the "Mainland" has an area of 523.25 square kilometres (202.03 sq mi) making it the sixth largest Scottish island and the tenth-largest island in the British Isles. The largest settlement and administrative centre is Kirkwall.

Read more about Orkney.

Some articles on orkney:

St Ola
... St Ola is a parish in Mainland, Orkney ... It contains the capital and largest town of the Orkney archipelago, Kirkwall ... Several ships of the North of Scotland, Orkney Shetland Steam Navigation Company (later P O Scottish Ferries) were named St Ola ...
Superstation Orkney
... The Superstation Orkney, also known as just The Superstation, is a local commercial radio station which broadcasts to some parts of mainland Orkney and Caithness ... The station is Orkney's only commercial radio station, and broadcasts 'a broad range of popular and contemporary music' ...