What is Orissa?

  • (noun): State in eastern India on the Bay of Bengal.


Orissa /ɒˈrɪsə/ (Oriya: ଓଡ଼ିଶା, Hindi: ओड़िशा – Oṛiśā), officially spelled Odisha, is a state of India, located on the east coast of India, by the Bay of Bengal. It is the modern name of the ancient kingdom of Kalinga, which was invaded by the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka in 261 BCE. The modern state of Orissa was established on April 1, 1936, as a province in British India and consisted predominantly of Oriya speakers. April 1 is therefore celebrated as Utkala Dibasa (foundation day of Orissa). Cuttack remained the capital of the state for over eight centuries until April 13, 1948 when Bhubaneswar was officially declared as the new capital of Orissa, and still is the present capital of this state.

Read more about Orissa.

Some articles on Orissa:

Orissa - Tourism
... The landscape of Orissa is dotted with a large number of temples ... The temples of Orissa conform to the Indo Aryan Nagara style of architecture, with distinctive features specific to this region ... The temples of Orissa exhibit a majestic grandeur ...
Lakhanpur, Orissa - Places of Interest
... Inside the fall there is a Shivalingam known as 'Maheswarnath' ... The lingam is submerged in water and is not ordinarily visible ...
Sulaiman Khan Karrani - Conquest of Orissa
... by the Muslim rulers, they had not yet been able to conquer Orissa ... After a few major battles against the Orissans, and aided by civil war elsewhere in Orissa, Sulaiman was able to bring the entire area under his rule ... appointed Lodi Khan and Qutlu Khan Lohani governors of Orissa and Puri respectively ...
Laxmisagar - Major Landmarks
... such as Oriya, Bengali, Assamese and Santali and local dialects of Orissa, West Bengal, Bihar and the North-eastern states of India ... The Gram Sevika Taalim Kendra at Laxmisagar is the largest of its kind in Orissa ... Institute is also situated in Laxmiagar, where the head quarters of the Seventh Battalion of Orissa Armed Forces was located ...