What is Malta?

  • (noun): A strategically located island south of Sicily in the Mediterranean Sea.
    See also — Additional definitions below


Malta i/ˈmɒltə/, officially the Republic of Malta (Maltese: Repubblika ta' Malta), is a Southern European country consisting of an archipelago situated in the centre of the Mediterranean, 80 km (50 mi) south of Sicily, 284 km (176 mi) east of Tunisia and 333 km (207 mi) north of Libya. Gibraltar lies 1,755 km (1,091 mi) to the west and Alexandria 1,508 km (937 mi) to the east. Malta covers just over 316 km2 (122 sq mi) in land area, making it one of the world's smallest states. It is also one of the most densely populated countries worldwide. The de facto capital city of Malta is Valletta; the largest town, Birkirkara. The main island comprises many towns, which together form one Larger Urban Zone (LUZ) with a population of 368,250 according to Eurostat. The country has two official languages, Maltese (constitutionally the national language) and English.

Read more about Malta.

Some articles on Malta:

Outline Of Malta - Culture of Malta - Sports in Malta
... Football in Malta Malta at the Olympics. ...
Outline Of Malta - Government and Politics of Malta - Branches of The Republic of Malta - Judicial Branch of Malta
... Primus Inter Pares of Judicial Branch Chief Justice of Malta Law Courts and Tribunals of Malta Commission for the Administration of Justice of Malta ...
Outline Of Malta
... as an overview of and topical guide to Malta Malta is a small and densely populated sovereign island nation located in the Mediterranean Sea ... Malta comprises an archipelago of seven islands, of which the three largest are inhabited ... Malta is located 93 km (58 mi) south of Sicily, and 288 km (179 mi) north of North Africa, giving the country a warm, Mediterranean climate ...
Outline Of Malta - Economy and Infrastructure of Malta
... one hundred and twenty fifth) Agriculture in Malta Banking in Malta National Bank of Malta Communications in Malta Internet in Malta Companies of Malta Currency of Malta Euro (see also Euro topics ...

More definitions of "Malta":

  • (noun): A republic on the island of Malta in the Mediterranean; achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1964.
    Synonyms: Republic of Malta