What is Kyushu?

  • (noun): The southernmost of the four main islands of Japan; contains coal fields.


Kyushu (九州, Kyūshū?, lit. "Nine Provinces") is the third largest island of Japan and most southwesterly of its four main islands. Its alternate ancient names include Kyūkoku (九国?, "Nine States"), Chinzei (鎮西?, "West of the Pacified Area"), and Tsukushi-no-shima (筑紫島?, "Island of Tsukushi"). The historical regional name is Saikaidō (西海道?, lit. West Sea Circuit) referred to Kyushu and its surrounding islands.

Read more about Kyushu.

Some articles on Kyushu:

Shin-Minamata Station - History
... was inherited by JR Kyushu. 13 March 2004 The Kyushu Shinkansen Shin-Minamata Station was opened ... The JR Kyushu Kagoshima Main Line was transferred to the control of the Hisatsu Orange Railway, and Hatsuno S.B ...
Shin-Tosu Station - Lines
... Shin-Tosu Station is served by the Kyushu Shinkansen, and will also form the junction with the planned West Kyushu Route of the Kyushu Shinkansen to Nagasaki in the future ...
Kyushu - Education
... Major universities and colleges in Kyushu National universities Kyushu University - One of seven former "Imperial Universities" Kyushu Institute of Technology Saga University ...