What is indian national congress?

Indian National Congress

The Indian National Congress (abbreviated INC, and commonly known as the Congress) (Bhāratīya Rāṣṭrīya Kāṅgrēs) is one of the two major political parties in India, the other being the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). It is the largest and one of the oldest democratic political parties in the world.The party's modern liberal platform is largely considered center-left in the Indian political spectrum. Founded in 1885 by members of the occultist movement Theosophical Society—Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee, Surendranath Banerjee, Monomohun Ghose, Mahadev Govind Ranade and William Wedderburn—the Indian National Congress became the leader of the Indian Independence Movement, with over 15 million members and over 70 million participants in its struggle against British rule in India. After independence in 1947, it became the nation's dominant political party, led by the Nehru-Gandhi family for the most part; major challenges for party leadership have only recently formed.

Read more about Indian National Congress.

Some articles on indian national congress:

Lucknow (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... 1957 ... Pulin Bihari Banerji, Indian National Congress 1962 B.K ... Dhaon, Indian National Congress 1967 Anand Narain Mulla, Independent 1971 Sheela Kaul, Indian National Congress 1977 Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, Bharatiya Lok Dal 1980 ...
S. A. Saminatha Iyer - Indian National Congress
... Swaminatha Iyer was involved in the Indian independence movement right from his early days ... from Tanjore in the first session of the Indian National Congress ... strongly urge upon the attention of this Congress the necessity of its entering its strong protest against any attempt on the part of Government to raise the tax on salt During the third ...
List Of Chief Ministers Of Himachal Pradesh - Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh
... Key INC Indian National Congress JP Janata Party BJP Bharatiya Janata Party # Name Took Office Left Office Party Days in Office 1 Yashwant Singh ...
State Assembly Elections In India, 2009 - Haryana
... In the Haryana assembly elections, 2009 Indian National Congress could not get majority ... of votes % 1 Indian National Congress 40. 35.08 3 Independents 7 13.16 4 Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) 6. 7.40 2 Indian National Lok Dal 31. 25.79 5 Bharatiya Janata Party 4. 9.04 6 ... Dharam Singh Chhokar All 5 MLAs from above list left HJC and joined Indian national Congress with a merger, thus leaving Kuldeep as single legislator of the Party in haryana Vidhan Sabha ...

Famous quotes containing the words congress, indian and/or national:

    I have a Congress on my hands.
    Grover Cleveland (1837–1908)

    I confess what chiefly interests me, in the annals of that war, is the grandeur of spirit exhibited by a few of the Indian chiefs. A nameless Wampanoag who was put to death by the Mohicans, after cruel tortures, was asked by his butchers, during the torture, how he liked the war?—he said, “he found it as sweet as sugar was to Englishmen.”
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    It is accordance with our determination to refrain from aggression and build up a sentiment and practice among nations more favorable to peace ... that we have incurred the consent of fourteen important nations to the negotiation of a treaty condemning recourse to war, renouncing it as an instrument of national policy.
    Calvin Coolidge (1872–1933)