Indian National Congress

The Indian National Congress (abbreviated INC, and commonly known as the Congress) (Bhāratīya Rāṣṭrīya Kāṅgrēs) is one of the two major political parties in India, the other being the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). It is the largest and one of the oldest democratic political parties in the world.The party's modern liberal platform is largely considered center-left in the Indian political spectrum. Founded in 1885 by members of the occultist movement Theosophical Society—Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee, Surendranath Banerjee, Monomohun Ghose, Mahadev Govind Ranade and William Wedderburn—the Indian National Congress became the leader of the Indian Independence Movement, with over 15 million members and over 70 million participants in its struggle against British rule in India. After independence in 1947, it became the nation's dominant political party, led by the Nehru-Gandhi family for the most part; major challenges for party leadership have only recently formed.

In the 2009 general elections, the Congress emerged as the single largest party in the Lok Sabha, with 205 of its candidates getting elected to the 543-member house. Consequently it, along with a coalition of allies called the United Progressive Alliance (UPA), was able to gain a majority and form the government.

Read more about Indian National CongressHistory, Recent Electoral History, Ideology and Policies, Internal Organization, Controversies and Criticisms, Prime Ministers of The Republic From The Congress Party, Congress in Pradesh (States), Congress in Various States, List of Current Congress Chief Ministers, List of Presidents of The Party

Other articles related to "indian national congress, indian, congress, indian national":

S. A. Saminatha Iyer - Indian National Congress
... Swaminatha Iyer was involved in the Indian independence movement right from his early days. 1885, Swaminatha Iyer participated as the delegate from Tanjore in the first session of the Indian National Congress ... the masses of the people of the land, I would strongly urge upon the attention of this Congress the necessity of its entering its strong protest against any attempt on the part of Government to raise the tax ...
State Assembly Elections In India, 2009 - Haryana
... In the Haryana assembly elections, 2009 Indian National Congress could not get majority ... of votes % 1 Indian National Congress 40. 35.08 3 Independents 7 13.16 4 Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) 6. 7.40 2 Indian National Lok Dal 31. 25.79 5 Bharatiya Janata Party 4. 9.04 6 Bahujan Samaj Party 86 ... In 2009 vidhan sabha elections, Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) emerged winner on following six seats ...
List Of Chief Ministers Of Himachal Pradesh - Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh
... Key INC Indian National Congress JP Janata Party BJP Bharatiya Janata Party # Name Took Office Left Office Party Days in Office 1 Yashwant Singh ...
Lucknow (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... 1957 ... Pulin Bihari Banerji, Indian National Congress 1962 B.K ... Dhaon, Indian National Congress 1967 Anand Narain Mulla, Independent 1971 Sheela Kaul, Indian National Congress 1977 Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, Bharatiya ...

Famous quotes containing the words congress, indian and/or national:

    I have a Congress on my hands.
    Grover Cleveland (1837–1908)

    A red-headed woodpecker flew across the river, and the Indian remarked that it was good to eat.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    Mr. Speaker, at a time when the nation is again confronted with necessity for calling its young men into service in the interests of National Security, I cannot see the wisdom of denying our young women the opportunity to serve their country.
    Lyndon Baines Johnson (1908–1973)