What is French Polynesia?

  • (noun): A French overseas possession in the South Pacific.
    Synonyms: French Oceania

French Polynesia

French Polynesia (i/ˈfrɛntʃ pɒlɨˈniːʒə/; French: Polynésie française, ; Tahitian: Pōrīnetia Farāni) is an overseas country (pays d'outre-mer) of the French Republic. It is made up of several groups of Polynesian islands, the most famous island being Tahiti in the Society Islands group, which is also the most populous island and the seat of the capital of the territory (Papeetē). Although not an integral part of its territory, Clipperton Island was administered from French Polynesia until 2007.

Read more about French Polynesia.

Some articles on French Polynesia:

Alexandre Léontieff - Political Career - President of French Polynesia
... Tahoera'a Huiraatira endorsed Léontieff's election as one of French Polynesia's two deputies in the National Assembly of France in 1986 ... Flosse became French Polynesia's first president from 1984 until 1987 ... In February 1987, Flosse resigned from the presidency in order to become the first, and only, French state secretary in charge of Pacific affairs ...
French Polynesia - Gallery
... Bora Bora, Taha'a and Ra'iātea from space Black sand beach, Tahiti Flags of French Polynesia and French Republic's Flag ...

Famous quotes containing the word french:

    To nourish children and raise them against odds is in any time, any place, more valuable than to fix bolts in cars or design nuclear weapons.
    —Marilyn French (20th century)