What is Colombo?

  • (noun): The capital and largest city of Sri Lanka; has one of the largest harbors in the world; is located on the western coast of the island of Ceylon.
    Synonyms: capital of Sri Lanka


Colombo (Sinhala: කොළඹ, pronounced ; Tamil: கொழும்பு) is the largest city and the commercial, industrial and cultural capital of Sri Lanka. It is located on the west coast of the island and adjacent to Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte suburb or the parliament capital of Sri Lanka. Colombo is also the administrative capital of Western Province, Sri Lanka and the district capital of Colombo District. Colombo is often referred to as the capital since Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte is a satellite city of Colombo. Colombo is a busy and vibrant place with a mixture of modern life and colonial buildings and ruins with a population of about 752,993 in the city limits. It was the political capital of Sri Lanka, before Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte.

Read more about Colombo.

Some articles on Colombo:

Libraries In Sri Lanka - School Libraries
... St.Peter's College, Colombo Royal College, Colombo Dharmaraja College, Kandy S ... Thomas' College, Mt Lavinia Ananda College, Colombo Mahanama College, Colombo S.T ...
Luigi Preti - Biography
... Colombo Gui Sullo/Ferrari Aggradi Mancini Valsecchi Mariotti Ferrari Aggradi/Crescenzo Mazza Tanassi Ripamonti V ... Colombo Lupis Forlani Brodolini Natali Rumor III Cabinet (March–August 1970) Bosco/Russo Taviani Gatto Aggradi Ripamonti Gaspari Moro Restivo Reale Giolitti Preti Colombo Misasi ...
Simone Colombo
... Simone Colombo (born August 28, 1963, in Milan) is a former professional tennis player from Italy ... During his career Colombo won five doubles titles and one singles title ... Colombo participated in 3 Davis Cup ties for Italy from 1987 to 1988, posting a 1–2 record in doubles and an 0–2 record in singles ...
Colombo, Paraná
... Colombo is a city of about 217,000 inhabitants in the Southern Brazilian state of Paraná is the third largest city in Greater Curitiba ...
List Of Diplomatic Missions In Maldives - Non-resident Embassies
... Bhutan (Dhaka) Brazil Brunei (Singapore) Canada (Colombo) Chile Colombia Cuba (Colombo) Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Egypt (Colombo) European Union (Colombo) Finland ...