Wagga Wagga

Wagga Wagga ( /ˈwɒɡəˈwɒɡə/ WOG WOG; informally called Wagga) is a city in New South Wales, Australia. Straddling the Murrumbidgee River, and with an urban population of 46,913 people, Wagga Wagga is the state's largest inland city, as well as an important agricultural, military, and transport hub of Australia. The city is located midway between the two largest cities in Australia, Sydney and Melbourne, and is the major regional centre for the Riverina and South West Slopes regions.

The central business district is focused around the commercial and recreational grid bounded by Best and Tarcutta Streets and the Murrumbidgee River and the Sturt Highway. The main shopping street of Wagga is Baylis Street which becomes Fitzmaurice Street at the northern end. The city is located in an alluvial valley and much of the city has a problem with urban salinity.

The original inhabitants of the Wagga Wagga region were the Wiradjuri people. In 1829, Charles Sturt became the first European explorer to visit the future site of the city. Squatters arrived soon after, leading to conflict with the indigenous inhabitants. The town, positioned on the site of a ford across the Murrumbidgee, was surveyed and gazetted as a village in 1849 and the town grew quickly after. In 1870, the town was gazetted as a municipality.

During the negotiations leading to the federation of the Australian colonies, Wagga Wagga was a contender for the site of the capital for the new nation. During World War I the town was the starting point for the Kangaroo recruitment march. The Great Depression and the resulting hardship saw Wagga Wagga become the centre of a secession movement for the Riverina region. Wagga Wagga became a garrison town during World War II with the establishment of a military base at Kapooka and Royal Australian Air Force bases at Forest Hill and Uranquinty. After the war, Wagga Wagga was proclaimed as a city in 1946 and new suburbs were developed to the south of the city. In 1982 the city was amalgamated with the neighbouring Kyeamba and Mitchell Shires to form the City of Wagga Wagga local government area.

Wagga Wagga is the seat of a Roman Catholic diocese, with its principal church being St Michael's Cathedral.

Read more about Wagga WaggaGeography, History, Demographics, Transport, Sport, Media, Notable People

Other articles related to "wagga wagga, wagga":

City Of Wagga Wagga - City, Town and Localities
... The City of Wagga Waaga includes the suburbs of Ashmont, Bomen, Bourkelands, Boorooma, Cartwrights Hill, East Wagga Wagga, Estella, Forest Hill, Glenfield Park, Gumly Gumly ...
List Of People From Wagga Wagga
... people from the Australian regional city of Wagga Wagga, New South Wales ... Australian rules footballer) Janine Balding (Born and raised in Wagga Wagga, murdered and raped in Sydney in 1988) Sir Thomas Blamey (World War 2 general and ...
Wagga Wagga - Notable People
... Main article List of people from Wagga Wagga, New South Wales Helen Coonan (Liberal Party senator for New South Wales 1996-2011) Geoff Dixon (Former Qantas CEO ...
Calvary Hospital, Wagga Wagga
... Calvary Hospital, originally Lewisham Hospital, is a private hospital founded by Sisters of the Little Company of Mary in 1926 and built to a design by architect William Monks ... It is located in Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia ...
Life FM (Wagga Wagga)
2WLF) is a Christian radio station in Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, which broadcasts on 101.9 MHz n the FM ... In 2006 Life FM relocated its studios to the Wagga Wagga Christian College ...