Turkmenistan (i/tɜrkˈmɛnɨstæn/ or i/tɜrkmɛnɨˈstɑːn/; Turkmen: Türkmenistan), formerly also known as Turkmenia (Russian: Туркмения), is one of the Turkic states in Central Asia. Until 1991, it was a constituent republic of the Soviet Union, the Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic (Turkmen SSR). Turkmenistan is one of the six independent Turkic states. It is bordered by Afghanistan to the southeast, Iran to the south and southwest, Uzbekistan to the east and northeast, Kazakhstan to the north and northwest and the Caspian Sea to the west.

Turkmenistan's GDP growth rate of 11% in 2010 ranks 4th in the world, but these figures are subject to wide margins of error. It possesses the world's fourth largest reserves of natural gas resources . Although it is wealthy in natural resources in certain areas, most of the country is covered by the Karakum (Black Sand) Desert.

The Turkmen government operates as a single-party system. Turkmenistan was ruled by President for Life Saparmurat Niyazov (called "Türkmenbaşy", "Leader of the Turkmens") until his sudden death on 21 December 2006. Gurbanguly Berdymukhammedov was elected the new president on 11 February 2007.

Read more about TurkmenistanHistory, Politics, Administrative Divisions, Climate, Geography, Economy, Demographics, Language, Religion, Culture

Other articles related to "turkmenistan":

Saparmurat Niyazov - Presidency - Internal Affairs
... Turkmenistan's media constantly doted on the president and helped build his cult of personality ... By 2005 there were 36,000 Internet users in Turkmenistan, representing 0.7% of the population ... According to the paper Neitralniy Turkmenistan physicians were ordered to swear an oath to the President, replacing the Hippocratic Oath ...
Saparmurat Niyazov - Presidency - Foreign Policy
... Turkmenistan has not participated in any United Nations peacekeeping missions ... The full independence of Turkmenistan was recognised by a UN General Assembly resolution “The permanent neutrality of Turkmenistan” of December 12, 1995 ... As a result in 2005 Turkmenistan would downgrade its links with the Commonwealth of Independent States becoming only an associate member under article 8 of the CIS ...
Turkmenistan - Culture - Mass Media
... Further information Communications in Turkmenistan There are a number of newspapers and monthly magazines published in Turkmenistan ... Turkmenistan currently broadcasts 6 national TV channels through satellite ... They are Altyn asyr, Yashlyk, Miras, Turkmenistan (in 7 languages), Turkmen Owazy and Ashgabat ...