Treaty of New Echota

The Treaty of New Echota was a treaty signed on December 29, 1835, in New Echota, Georgia by officials of the United States government and representatives of a minority Cherokee political faction, known as the Treaty Party. The treaty was amended and ratified by the US Senate in March 1836, despite protests from the Cherokee National Council and its lacking the signature of the Principal Chief John Ross.

The treaty established terms under which the entire Cherokee Nation was expected to cede its territory in the Southeast and move west to the Indian Territory. Although the treaty was not approved by the Cherokee National Council, it was ratified by the U.S. Senate and became the legal basis for the forcible removal known as the Trail of Tears.

Read more about Treaty Of New Echota:  Division of The Cherokee Nation East, Ratification, Enforcement

Other articles related to "treaty of new echota, treaty":

Treaty Of New Echota - Enforcement
... those Cherokee who had not yet complied with the treaty and moved west ... Ross’ partisans blamed Brown’s actions on the members of the Treaty Party, particularly those, such as the Ridge and Watie families, who had emigrated prior to the forced removal ... (notably absent from the list were Treaty Party leaders David Vann, Charles Vann, John Gunter, Charles Foreman, William Hicks, and Andrew Ross) ...
Cherokee Removal - Treaty of New Echota
... Further information Treaty of New Echota With the landslide reelection of Andrew Jackson in 1832, some of the most strident Cherokee opponents of removal began ... as the “Ridge Party”, or the “Treaty Party” ... in 1832, the Council threatened to impeach the Ridges, and a prominent member of the Treaty Party (John Walker, Jr.) was murdered ...

Famous quotes containing the word treaty:

    The hand that signed the treaty bred a fever,
    And famine grew, and locusts came;
    Great is the hand that holds dominion over
    Man by a scribbled name.
    Dylan Thomas (1914–1953)