Tony Award

The Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Theatre, more commonly known informally as the Tony Award, recognizes achievement in live Broadway theatre. The awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League at an annual ceremony in New York City. The awards are given for Broadway productions and performances, and an award is given for regional theatre. Several discretionary non-competitive awards are also given, including a Special Tony Award, the Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award. The awards are named after Antoinette Perry, co-founder of the American Theatre Wing.

The rules for the Tony Awards are set forth in the official document "Rules and Regulations of The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards", which applies for that season only. The Tony Awards are considered the highest U.S. theatre honor, the New York theatre industry's equivalent to the Academy Awards (Oscars) for motion pictures, the Grammy Awards for music and the Emmy Awards for television, and the Laurence Olivier Award for theatre in London, England.

From 1997 to 2010, the Tony Awards ceremony was held at Radio City Music Hall in New York City in June and broadcast live on CBS television, except in 1999, when it was held at the Gershwin Theatre. From 2011 onwards the ceremony has been held at the Beacon Theatre.

Read more about Tony Award:  History, Award Categories, Criticism, Award Milestones

Other articles related to "tony award, award, awards, tony awards, tonys":

The Heiress (play) - Awards and Nominations
... Original 1947 Tony Award Best Actor in Play - Basil Rathbone (nominee) Tony Award Best Costume Design - Mary Percy Schenck (winner) 1976 revival Drama ...
Lettice And Lovage - Awards
1990 Tony Award Best Play (nominated) 1990 Tony Award Best Actress in a Play Maggie Smith - winner 1990 Tony Award Best Featured Actress in a Play Margaret Tyzack ...
List Of Michigan Actors - S–Z
... Spellman, film and television actor (born in Detroit) Elaine Stritch, actress with four Tony Award nominations (born in Detroit) Geoff Stults, known as Ben Kinkirk in 7th Heaven (born in Detroit ... actor (born in Calumet) Lily Tomlin, actress and comedian, Tony Award winner for the play The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe and an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress ... Original Series (born in Ann Arbor) Robin Williams, actor, Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor winner for the film Good Will Hunting (1997) (born in Chicago ...
Tony Award For Best Author
... The Tony Award for Best Author is a now retired category once presented to playwrights, authors and librettists of theatrical plays and musicals ... Only eight awards were presented from 1947 to 1965, and is often grouped with the category Tony Award for Best Book of a Musical ...
Tony Award - Award Milestones
... Some notable records and facts about the Tony Awards include the following Productions Wins The most Tony Awards ever received by a single production was the musical The Producers (2001 ... Non-musical wins The most Tonys ever received by a non-musical play was The Coast of Utopia (2007) with seven awards, including best play ... with fewer wins The musical The Scottsboro Boys (2011) was nominated for 12 Tony Awards but did not win any ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)