Tomorrow Series

Tomorrow Series

The Tomorrow series is a series of seven young adult invasion novels written by Australian writer John Marsden, detailing a high-intensity invasion and occupation of Australia by a foreign power. The novels are related from the first person perspective by Ellie Linton, a teenage girl, who is part of a small band of teenagers waging a guerrilla war on the enemy soldiers in the region around their fictional home town of Wirrawee. The name of the series is derived from the title of the first book, Tomorrow, When the War Began.

The books in the series were originally published from 1993–99, by Pan Macmillan and have been reprinted sixteen times. A sequel series, The Ellie Chronicles, was later published from 2003–06. The follow-up series concerns itself largely with the attempts of society and the protagonist to regain a normal level of functioning in the face of the psychological damage sustained during the war.

The invading nation is never specified in the books; in fact, no nation in the world meets the criteria laid out in the series, most likely by deliberate intent of the author. Likewise, no parts of the war outside Ellie's immediate perspective are covered; the reader is not informed exactly how much of the country is under enemy control, or how well the war is going for the Australian military.

Tomorrow, When The War Began and its sequels are one of the most popular and critically acclaimed series of novels aimed at young readers in Australian literature history. It has sold over 3 million copies in Australia and has been translated into five languages.

Read more about Tomorrow Series:  The Ellie Chronicles, Themes, Inspiration, Similarities To Other John Marsden Novels, Reception, Films

Other articles related to "tomorrow series, tomorrow, series":

Tomorrow Series - Films
... announced that it would fund the development of the feature film Tomorrow, When the War Began, written and directed by screenwriter Stuart Beattie (Aus ...
John Marsden (writer) - Writing Career - Later Career
... Further information Tomorrow series#Reception In 1993 Marsden published Tomorrow, When the War Began the first book in the Tomorrow Series and his most ... Marsden went on to write seven books in the Tomorrow Series, together with a follow-up trilogy, The Ellie Chronicles despite originally intending for the entire series to only consist of a ... At the same time as writing the Tomorrow series, Marsden wrote several other novels such as Checkers, edited works such as This I Believe, wrote ...

Famous quotes containing the words series and/or tomorrow:

    Galileo, with an operaglass, discovered a more splendid series of celestial phenomena than anyone since.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Silent, I lost the muse. Return, Apollo!
    Tomorrow let loveless, let lover tomorrow make love.
    Allen Tate (1899–1979)