Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers (often shortened as the Bucs) are a professional American football franchise based in Tampa, Florida, U.S. They are currently members of the Southern Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL) – they are the only team in the division not to come from the old NFC West. The team, along with the Seattle Seahawks, joined the NFL in 1976 as an expansion team. The Bucs played their first season in the AFC West as part of the 1976 expansion plan. After the season, they switched conferences with the Seattle Seahawks and became part of the NFC. The club is currently owned by Malcolm Glazer. They play their home games at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa.

The Buccaneers are the first post-merger expansion team to win a division title, win a playoff game, and to host and play in a conference championship game, this was accomplished during the 1979 season. They are also the first team since the merger to complete a winning season when starting 10 or more rookies, which happened in the 2010 season. In 1976 & 1977, The Buccaneers lost their first 26 games. After a brief winning era in the late 1970s and early 1980s, the team suffered through 14 consecutive losing seasons. Then, for a 10-year period, they were consistent playoff contenders and won Super Bowl XXXVII at the end of the 2002 season.

Read more about Tampa Bay Buccaneers"Tampa Bay", Team Facilities, Cheerleaders, Radio and Television

Other articles related to "tampa bay buccaneers, bay, buccaneers, tampa, buccaneer":

List Of Florida Gators Football Players - National Football Conference - Minnesota Vikings
... Culpepper, former NFL defensive tackle for the Minnesota Vikings (1992–1993), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1994–1999) and Chicago Bears (2000) Ciatrick Fason, former NFL running back for the Minnesota Vikings (2005–200 ...
List Of National Football League Passing Completions Leaders - Players With 2,500 Completions or More
... Hall of Fame 1 Brett Favre Atlanta Falcons (1991) Green Bay Packers (1992–2007) New York Jets (2008) Minnesota Vikings (2009–2010) 10169. 62.0 Eligible in 2 ... Peyton ...
Lee Robinson (American Football) - Professional Career - Tampa Bay Buccaneers
... Robinson was signed to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers practice squad on October 27 ... After his contract expired following the season, the Buccaneers re-signed Robinson on January 5, 2010 ...
List Of Tampa Bay Buccaneers Head Coaches
... The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are a professional American football team based in Tampa, Florida ... There have been nine head coaches for the Buccaneers franchise ... Three Buccaneers coaches, John McKay, Tony Dungy, and Jon Gruden, have taken the Buccaneers to the playoffs, while only Gruden has won the Super Bowl with ...
Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Radio and Television
... The Buccaneers' current flagship radio stations are WFUS 103.5 FM and WDAE 620 AM ... Broadcast legend and former Green Bay Packers' announcer Ray Scott was the play-by-play man for the Bucs' inaugural season of 1976, and from 1977 to 1988 Mark Champion, who became ... Former Buccaneer Hardy Nickerson served as color commentator for one season in 2006, until he signed with the Bears as a linebackers coach on February 23, 2007 ...

Famous quotes containing the word bay:

    Three miles long and two streets wide, the town curls around the bay ... a gaudy run with Mediterranean splashes of color, crowded steep-pitched roofs, fishing piers and fishing boats whose stench of mackerel and gasoline is as aphrodisiac to the sensuous nose as the clean bar-whisky smell of a nightclub where call girls congregate.
    Norman Mailer (b. 1923)