Straits Settlements

The Straits Settlements were a group of British territories located in Southeast Asia.

Originally established in 1826 as part of the territories controlled by the British East India Company, the Straits Settlements came under direct British control as a crown colony on 1 April 1867. The colony was dissolved in 1946 as part of the British reorganisation of its South-East Asian dependencies following the end of the Second World War.

The Straits Settlements consisted of the four individual settlements of Malacca, Dinding, Penang (also known as Prince of Wales Island), Singapore (with Christmas Island and the Cocos Islands). The island of Labuan, off the coast of Borneo, was also incorporated into the colony with effect from 1 January 1907, becoming a separate settlement within it in 1912. With the exception of Singapore, Christmas Island, and the Cocos Islands, these territories now form part of Malaysia.

Read more about Straits SettlementsHistory and Government, Population, Finance

Other articles related to "straits settlements":

Time In Malaysia - History
... and Singapore all had their own observatories hence, the three Straits Settlements had their respective Local Mean Time, with minutes of differences amongst the three locations. 1 January 1901 an Singapore Local Mean Time (Singapore Mean Time) was adopted by Straits Settlements and Federated Malay States as the Standard Time. 1905 the mean time of the 105th meridian was adopted by Straits Settlements and Federated Malay States as the new Standard Time ...
Lim Koon Teck - World War II
... In 1941 Lim Koon Teck was a magistrate in Penang, a member of the "Straits Settlements Legal Service", created to satisfy local demands while preserving the ... He was a captain of the Straits Settlements Volunteer Corps ... of execution for being a magistrate and officer of the Straits Settlements Volunteer Corps “C” Company, Lim Koon Teck and his family prepared to board a ferry and ...
List Of Governors Of Penang - Deputy Residents and Resident Councillors, Prince of Wales Island
1834–1836 Captain James Low (acting) 1838 Edmund Augustus Blundell 1849–1855 In 1851 the Straits Settlements, while still remaining a Residency, was transferred from the ... invested in the Governor of Bengal were now vested in the Governor of the Straits Settlements ... He had transferred to the Straits Settlements in 1825 and had served the Government of the Straits Settlements for about 54 years ...
Singapore In The Straits Settlements - Crown Colony (1867–1942)
... to grow, the deficiencies in the Straits Settlements administration became increasingly apparent ... The British government finally agreed to make the Straits Settlements a Crown colony on 1 April 1867, receiving orders directly from the Colonial Office rather than from India ... As a Crown Colony, the Straits Settlements was ruled by a governor, based in Singapore, with the assistance of executive and legislative councils ...
Straits Settlements Cricket Team
... The Straits Settlements cricket team was the team that represented the Straits Settlements in international cricket matches between 1890 and 1940 ...

Famous quotes containing the words settlements and/or straits:

    That those tribes [the Sac and Fox Indians] cannot exist surrounded by our settlements and in continual contact with our citizens is certain. They have neither the intelligence, the industry, the moral habits, nor the desire of improvement which are essential to any favorable change in their condition.
    Andrew Jackson (1767–1845)

    Men would never be superstitious, if they could govern all their circumstances by set rules, or if they were always favoured by fortune: but being frequently driven into straits where rules are useless, and being often kept fluctuating pitiably between hope and fear by the uncertainty of fortune’s greedily coveted favours, they are consequently for the most part, very prone to credulity.
    Baruch (Benedict)