Stocksbridge Park Steels F.C.

Stocksbridge Park Steels F.C.

Stocksbridge Park Steels Football Club is a football club based in Stocksbridge, South Yorkshire, England, playing in the Northern Premier League Premier Division. The club was formed in 1986 after a merger between two other clubs, and initially played in the Northern Counties East League. In the 1993–94 season the team won the championship of this league but were ineligible to gain promotion to the Northern Premier League as their stadium did not meet the required standard. Two seasons later Stocksbridge finished as Northern Counties East League runners-up and this time gained promotion to the Northern Premier League Division One, where the team remained until the division was regionalised in 2007. In the 2008–09 season the team won the play-offs for promotion to the Northern Premier League Premier Division, the highest level the club has ever reached in the English football league system.

The Stocksbridge team wear a yellow and blue kit and play at the Look Local Stadium, which was known as the Bracken Moor Stadium until the club secured a sponsorship deal with a local newspaper in 2006. The stadium adjoins a cricket pitch and the club was required to erect a dividing fence in order to meet the requirements of the Northern Premier League. The team have yet to reach the first round of the FA Cup, with their best performance being a run from the preliminary round to the fourth (final) qualifying round in the 2003–04 season. Their best performance in the FA Trophy, the national competition for higher-level non-league clubs, was an appearance in the second round proper in the same season.

Read more about Stocksbridge Park Steels F.C.:  History, Colours and Crest, Stadium, Supporters, Statistics and Records, Players, Managers, Current Staff, Honours

Famous quotes containing the word park:

    Is a park any better than a coal mine? What’s a mountain got that a slag pile hasn’t? What would you rather have in your garden—an almond tree or an oil well?
    Jean Giraudoux (1882–1944)