Shaun Gallagher

Shaun Gallagher is an American philosopher known for his work on embodied and social cognition, perception, agency and the philosophy of psychopathology. He holds (since 2011) the Lillian and Morrie Moss Chair of Excellence in Philosophy at the University of Memphis and was awarded the Anneliese Maier Research Award by the Humboldt Foundation (2012-2017). His secondary appointments include Research Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Science at the University of Hertfordshire in England, Honorary Professor of Philosophy at the University of Copenhagen, Honorary Professor of Philosophy at Durham University (UK), and affiliated research faculty member at the Institute of Simulation and Training at the University of Central Florida and the Institute for Intelligent Systems, University of Memphis. He co-edits the journal Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences, and is the author of several books, including How the Body Shapes the Mind (2005), Phenomenology (2012, Hermeneutics and Education (1992), The Inordinance of Time (1998), Brainstorming (2008), and (with Dan Zahavi), The Phenomenological Mind (2008; 2nd edition, 2012). He is also editor of The Oxford Handbook of the Self (2011) and several other volumes.

He has held visiting positions at the Humboldt University in Berlin, the Centre de Recherche en Epistémelogie Appliquée in Paris; the Ecole Normale Supérieure, Lyon; the University of Copenhagen; and the Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit at the University of Cambridge. His previous positions include Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Sciences at the University of Central Florida. He received his Ph.D in philosophy from Bryn Mawr College. He also studied philosophy at Villanova University and Leuven, and economics at the State University of New York–Buffalo.

Read more about Shaun Gallagher:  Philosophy and Research, Interaction Theory, Bibliography, See Also

Other articles related to "shaun":

Australia At The 2008 Summer Paralympics - Medalists
... Dylan Alcott Grant Mizens Brendan Dowler Brad Ness Justin Eveson Shaun Norris Michael Hartnett Troy Sachs Adrian King Tige Simmons Tristan Knowles Brett Stibners Wheelchair Basketball Men's tournament 1 ...