SECAM - SECAM Varieties - L, B/G, D/K, H, M (broadcast)

L, B/G, D/K, H, M (broadcast)

There are six varieties of SECAM:

  1. French SECAM (SECAM-L)
    French SECAM (SECAM-L) is used only in France, Luxembourg (only RTL9 on CH 21 from Dudelange) and Tele Monte-Carlo Transmitters in the south of France
  2. SECAM-B/G
    SECAM-B/G is/was used in parts of the Middle East, former East Germany and Greece
  3. SECAM D/K
    SECAM D/K is used in the Commonwealth of Independent States and parts of Eastern Europe (this is simply SECAM used with the D and K monochrome TV transmission standards) although most Eastern European countries have now migrated to other systems.
  4. SECAM-H
    Around 1983–1984 a new color identification standard ("Line SECAM or SECAM-H") has been introduced in order to make more space available inside the signal for adding teletext information (originally according to the Antiope standard). Identification bursts have been made per-line (like in PAL) rather than per-picture. Very old SECAM TV sets might not be able to display color for today's broadcasts. Although any sets manufactured after the mid-1970s should be able to receive either variant.
  5. SECAM-K
    France also introduced the SECAM standard to its dependencies. However, the SECAM standard used in France's overseas possessions (as well as African countries that were once ruled by France) was slightly different from the SECAM used in Metropolitan France. The SECAM standard used in Metropolitan France used the SECAM-L and a variant of the channel information for VHF channels 2-10. French overseas possessions and many French-speaking African countries use the SECAM-K standard and a mutually incompatible variant of the channel information for VHF channels 4-9 (not channels 2-10).
  6. SECAM-M
    Around 1970-1991 was used in Cambodia and Vietnam (Hanoi and cities North). Early 1980's was used in Venezuela.

Read more about this topic:  SECAM, SECAM Varieties