Roman Catholic Diocese of Parañaque

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Parañaque

The Diocese of Parañaque is one of the 72 ecclesiastical territories called dioceses of the Roman Catholic Church in the Philippines. It comprises the cities of Parañaque, Las Piñas, and Muntinlupa. It was established on December 7, 2002 by Pope John Paul II, who appointed Bishop Jesse Eugenio Mercado, an Auxiliary Bishop of Manila, as its first Bishop.

The diocese comprises 47 parishes, one chaplaincy and six shrines: 22 parishes and three shrines in Parañaque; 14 parishes and one shrine in Las Piñas; and 9 parishes, two shrines and one chaplaincy in Muntinlupa. The Cathedral Parish of St. Andrew in La Huerta, Parañaque City, serves as the seat of the diocese.

Read more about Roman Catholic Diocese Of Parañaque:  Vision, Mission, Core Values, Pastoral Priorities, Statistics, Diocesan Logo, Bishop's Coat of Arms

Other articles related to "catholic, diocese":

Chiapas - History - 20th Century To The Present
... Another important factor to this movement would be the role of the Catholic Church from the 1960s to the 1980s ... In 1960, Samuel Ruiz became the bishop of the Diocese of Chiapas, centered in San Cristóbal ... was that starting in the 1970s, a shift began from traditional Catholic affiliation to Protestant, Evangelical and other Christian sects ...

Famous quotes containing the words roman and/or catholic:

    I do not believe in the creed professed by the Jewish Church, by the Roman Church, by the Greek Church, by the Turkish Church, by the Protestant Church, nor by any church that I know of. My own mind is my own church.
    Thomas Paine (1737–1809)

    That is the great end of empires before God, to be Catholic and draw nations into their Catholicism. But our empire is less and less Christian as it grows.
    Gerard Manley Hopkins (1844–1889)