Piano Sonata in A Minor, D. 845 (Schubert)

The Piano Sonata No. 16 in A minor, D. 845 (Op. 42) by Franz Schubert is a sonata for solo piano, composed in May 1825. The sonata is in four movements:

  • I. Moderato
  • II. Andante, poco mosso in C major
  • III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace (A minor → A major) - Trio: Un poco piu lento (F major)
  • IV. Rondo: Allegro vivace

The second movement is in variation form. Noted performers of the work in the 19th century included Hans von Bülow, who played the sonata in both Europe and the USA.

Daniel Coren has discussed the nature of the recapitulation in the first movement of this sonata.

Famous quotes containing the word piano:

    I will tell you what Jeanne was like. She was like a piano in a country where everyone has had their hands cut off.
    Angela Carter (1940–1992)