Peter Carey

Some articles on peter carey, peter, carey:

The Adventure Of Black Peter - Plot
... Peter Carey, the 50-year-old victim and former master of the Sea Unicorn of Dundee, was a most unpleasant man, especially when he was drunk ... This is curious, as Peter Carey — Black Peter as people called him — seldom smoked ... saw the shadow of a head on the blind in one of Carey’s cabin windows, and he is sure that it was not Carey ...
Miles Franklin Award - Shortlisted Works
... Silvey The Book of Emmett, Deborah Forster Truth, Peter Temple Butterfly, Sonya Hartnett 2009 The Pages, Murray Bail Wanting, Richard Flanagan Ice, Louis Nowra The Slap, Christos Tsiolkas Breath, Tim Winton 2008 ... Coetzee Three Dog Night, Peter Goldsworthy The Great Fire, Shirley Hazzard Slow Water, Annamarie Jagose Seven Types of Ambiguity, Elliot Perlman 2003 The Prosperous Thief, Andrea Goldsmith Of a Boy, Sonya. 1998 Wrack, James Bradley Jack Maggs, Peter Carey The Service of Clouds, Delia Falconer The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Richard Flanagan One for the Master, Dorothy Johnston Lovesong, Elizabeth ...
The Age Book Of The Year - Fiction (or Imaginative Writing) Award
... Sonya Hartnett 2002 Gilgamesh by Joan London 2001 True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey 2000 Isobel on the Way to the Corner Shop by Amy ...
New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards - Categories - Christina Stead Prize For Fiction - Award Winners
... Author Publisher 1979 An Imaginary Life David Malouf Chatto and Windus, London 1980 War Crimes Peter Carey University of Queensland Press 1981 The Impersonators Jessica Anderson Macmillan 1982 Bliss Peter Carey ...

Famous quotes containing the words carey and/or peter:

    ... my one aim and concentrated purpose shall be and is to show that women can learn, can reason, can compete with men in the grand fields of literature and science ... that a woman can be a woman and a true one without having all her time engrossed by dress and society.
    —M. Carey Thomas (1857–1935)

    No philosopher understands his predecessors until he has re-thought their thought in his own contemporary terms.
    —Sir Peter Frederick Strawson (b. 1919)