Ontario Junior Hockey League

The Ontario Junior Hockey League is a Junior A ice hockey league under the supervision of the Ontario Hockey Association and the Canadian Junior Hockey League. The league dates back to 1954 as the Central Junior B Hockey League. In 1993, the Central Junior B Hockey League was promoted to the Junior A level and renamed the Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League. In 2009, the league was dissolved by the Ontario Hockey Association and split into two leagues: the Central Canadian Hockey League and the Ontario Junior A Hockey League. By early 2010, both sides had gotten over their differences and merged to reform the Ontario Junior Hockey League was well as agreeing to a retraction by 5-teams.

Starting in the 2012-13 season, the league will feature 22 teams. At its peak, the league showcased 37 teams, but the league now has a policy of retraction. Despite the sheer size of the league, the OJHL is mostly based in the Greater Toronto Area with a few teams eastward to Kingston. The entire area west of Hamilton and Milton, Southwestern Ontario, and north of Orangeville and west of Lindsay, Central Ontario, is not serviced by Junior A hockey despite recent attempts by the Ontario Hockey Association to rectify the issue. The exception to this is the Buffalo Jr. Sabres located in the state of New York.

The winner of the OJHL playoffs and Frank L. Buckland Trophy compete for the Dudley Hewitt Cup with the winners of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, Superior International Junior Hockey League and the host team. The winner of the Dudley Hewitt Cup then goes on to compete for the Royal Bank Cup.

For season-by-season results from the OJHL/OPJHL, please see: List of OJHL seasons.

Read more about Ontario Junior Hockey League:  History, Changes For 2012-13, Teams, Former Teams, OPJHL Showcase Tournament, League Records, Timeline of Teams in OJHL

Other articles related to "ontario junior hockey league, junior, hockey league, league, ontario junior, hockey":

ojhl" class="article_title_2">Ontario Junior Hockey League - Timeline of Teams in OJHL
1992 - Central Junior B Hockey League is elected to become pilot project for planned Junior A league 1992 - Cobourg Cougars join league from Central Ontario Junior C Hockey ... Buzzers, Mississauga Chargers, and Kingston Voyageurs join league from Metro Junior A Hockey League 1995 - Stouffville Clippers join league 1995 - Trenton Sting and Bowmanville Eagles join ... Michael's Buzzers take leave of absence 1998 - League absorbs folded Metro Junior A Hockey League new teams due to merger Auburn Jr ...

Famous quotes containing the words league and/or junior:

    Stereotypes fall in the face of humanity. You toodle along, thinking that all gay men wear leather after dark and should never, ever be permitted around a Little League field. And then one day your best friend from college, the one your kids adore, comes out to you.
    Anna Quindlen (b. 1952)

    The junior senator from Wisconsin, by his reckless charges, has so preyed upon the fears and hatreds and prejudices of the American people that he has started a prairie fire which neither he nor anyone else may be able to control.
    J. William Fulbright (b. 1905)