Nicosia (/ˌnɪkəˈsiːə/ NIK-ə-SEE), known locally as Lefkosia (Greek: Λευκωσία, Turkish: Lefkoşa), is the capital and largest city in Cyprus, as well as its main business center. After the collapse of the Berlin Wall, Nicosia remained the only divided capital in the world, with the southern and the northern portions divided by a Green Line. It is located near the center of the island, on the banks of the Pedieos River.

Nicosia is the capital and seat of government of the Republic of Cyprus. The northern part of the city functions as the capital of the self-proclaimed Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, a disputed breakaway region whose independence is recognized only by Turkey, and which the rest of the international community considers as occupied territory of the Republic of Cyprus since the Turkish invasion in 1974.

Through the years Nicosia has established itself as the island's financial capital and its main international business centre. Nicosia is consistently ranked as one of the richest cities in the world in per capita income terms.

In the past few years Nicosia has seen remarkable progress regarding its infrastructure with the most remarkable being the central Eleftheria square currently in progress.

Read more about NicosiaLandmarks, Municipalities, Education, Economy, Climate, Transportation, Famous Nicosians, Gallery

Other articles related to "nicosia":

Cypriot Basketball Cup - Teams
... Petrolina AEK - Larnaca Cytavision APOEL - Nicosia Forex Time Apollon - Limassol Ydra Asphalistiki ENAD - Agios Dometios, Nicosia Michelin ETHA - Engomi, Nicosia Keravnos - Strovolos, Nicosia Omonia ...
Nicosia, Sicily - Main Sights
... Barrafranca Calascibetta Catenanuova Centuripe Cerami Enna Gagliano Castelferrato Leonforte Nicosia Nissoria Piazza Armerina Pietraperzia Regalbuto Sperlinga Troina Valguarnera Caropepe Villarosa ...
List Of Foreign Football Players In Cypriot First Division - Russia
... Onisilos Sotira (2003–2004) Gennadiy Korkin – Olympiakos Nicosia (1993–1994) Roman Oreshchuk – APOEL F.C ... (1999–2000) Boris Rotenberg – Olympiakos Nicosia (2012-) Petr Sasykov – Olympiakos Nicosia (2006–2008) Akhrik Tsveiba – AEK Larnaca F.C ...
Motorways And Roads In Cyprus - Cyprus Motorways List
... Motorway logo Connecting Cities Status Special Features A1 Nicosia - Limassol Completed 1st Motorway in Cyprus, 5,200m Emergency runway A2 Nicosia - Larnaca Completed 1st Modern Motorway in Cyprus. 3 tunnels A8 Limassol - Saittas Preliminary Designs N/A A9 Nicosia - Astromeritis Partly under construction 1st Urban Motorway in Cyprus Nicosia 3rd Ring ... The first section of the A9 Nicosia - Astomeritis Motorway between Kokkinotrimithia and Akaki has been completed, whereas the rest is under study ...
... Lakatamia (Greek Λακατάμια) is a suburb of Nicosia, Cyprus ... It is located in Nicosia District ... Due to the expansion of the Nicosia urban area, Lakatamia has seen considerable population growth in the past years and has grown from two small villages into a sizable suburb ...