Neath East

Neath East is an electoral ward of Neath Port Talbot county borough, Wales. Neath East falls within the community of Neath.

Neath East includes some or all of the neighbourhoods of Melincryddan, Pencaerau, Penrhiwtyn in the parliamentary constituency of Neath. It is bounded by the wards of Coedffranc Central to the northwest; Dyffryn and Neath North to the north; Neath South and Cimla to the east; and Briton Ferry West and Briton Ferry East to the south.

The ward contains marshland to the west, an industrial and residential area in the middle and grassland and woodland to the east.

In the 2012 local council elections, the electorate turnout was 27.15%. The results were:

Candidate Party Votes Status
Sheila Penry Labour 905 Labour hold
John Miller Labour 826 Labour hold
Sandra Miller Labour 808 Labour hold
Breandan MacCathail Plaid Cymru 452
Gareth Thomas Plaid Cymru 391
Philippa Jane Edwards Plaid Cymru 365

Electoral wards of Neath Port Talbot county borough
  • Aberavon
  • Baglan
  • Briton Ferry East
  • Briton Ferry West
  • Bryn and Cwmavon
  • Coedffranc Central
  • Coedffranc North
  • Coedffranc West
  • Cymmer
  • Glyncorrwg
  • Gwynfi
  • Margam
  • Port Talbot
  • Sandfields East
  • Sandfields West
  • Tai-Bach
  • Aberdulais
  • Allt-Wen
  • Blaengwrach
  • Bryncoch North
  • Bryncoch South
  • Cadoxton
  • Cimla
  • Crynant
  • Cwmllynfell
  • Dyffryn
  • Glynneath
  • Godre'r Graig
  • Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen
  • Lower Brynamman
  • Neath East
  • Neath North
  • Neath South
  • Onllwyn
  • Pelenna
  • Pontardawe
  • Resolven
  • Rhos
  • Seven Sisters
  • Tonna
  • Trebanos
  • Ystalyfera

Coordinates: 51°39′02″N 3°48′50″W / 51.65056°N 3.81398°W / 51.65056; -3.81398

Famous quotes containing the word east:

    From the east to western Inde,
    No jewel is like Rosalind.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)