Malaysia - Subdivisions


Perlis Kedah Penang Kelantan Terengganu Perak Selangor Negeri Sembilan Malacca Johor Pahang Sarawak Sabah Labuan Kuala Lumpur Putrajaya West Malaysia East Malaysia Federal Territory South China Sea Strait
Malacca Gulf of Thailand Sulu Sea Celebes Sea Brunei Indonesia Indonesia Singapore Thailand

Malaysia is a federation of 13 states and three federal territories. These are divided between two regions, with 11 states and two federal territories on Peninsular Malaysia and the other two states and one federal territory in East Malaysia. Governance of the states is divided between the federal and the state governments, and the Federal government has direct administration of the federal territories.

The 13 states are based on historical Malay Kingdoms, and 9 of the 11 Peninsular states, known as the Malay states, retain their royal families. The King is elected by and from the nine rulers to serve a five-year term. Each state has a unicameral legislature known as the State Legislative Assembly. The states of East Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak) have separate immigration policies and controls, and a unique residency status. For citizens of one of these states or Peninsular Malaysia, the other areas of Malaysia are considered foreign countries under immigration laws. Each state is further divided into districts, which are then divided into mukim. In Sabah and Sarawak districts are grouped into divisions.

The federal parliament is permitted to legislate on issues of land, the Islamic religion and local government, in order to provide for a uniform law among all states. It may also intervene at the request of the state assembly concerned. Except for some land related laws, the in question must also be passed by the state assembly. Non-Islamic issues that fall under the purview of the state may also be legislated at the federal level for the purpose of conforming with Malaysian treaty obligations.

Read more about this topic:  Malaysia

Other articles related to "subdivisions, subdivision":

List Of Settlements In Messenia - By Municipality
... Subdivisions of the municipality of Kalamata Municipal unit of Arfara Agios Floros Agrilos Arfara Pidima Platy Stamatino Velanidia Vromovrisi Municipal ...
Census Geographic Units Of Canada - Census Subdivisions
... Census subdivisions generally correspond to the municipalities of Canada, as determined by provincial and territorial legislation ... Statistics Canada has created census subdivisions in cooperation with the provinces of British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nova Scotia as equivalents for municipalities ... The Indian reserve and Indian settlement census subdivisions are determined according to criteria established by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada ...
Regions Of Singapore
... The regions of Singapore are urban planning subdivisions demarcated by the Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore to aid in its planning efforts ... organizations, these regions are not administrative subdivisions ... These subdivisions are incompatible with the regions subdivisions ...
Census Geographic Units Of Canada - Census Consolidated Subdivisions
... A census consolidated subdivision is a geographic unit between census division and census subdivision ... It is a combination of adjacent census subdivisions typically consisting of larger, more rural census subdivisions and smaller, more densely-populated ...