List of ECW World Heavyweight Champions

List Of ECW World Heavyweight Champions

The ECW World Heavyweight Championship was a professional wrestling world heavyweight championship in Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) and World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). It was the original world title of the Extreme Championship Wrestling promotion, later used in WWE as the world title of the ECW brand and one of three in WWE, complementing the WWE Championship and World Heavyweight Championship. It was introduced as the NWA-ECW Heavyweight Championship on April 25, 1992. Originally a part of the Eastern Championship Wrestling promotion, while it was a member of the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) governing body. It was established as a world heavyweight championship in 1994 following the promotion's secession from the NWA. The promotion became Extreme Championship Wrestling and the title became the ECW World Heavyweight Championship. It remained active until April 11, 2001 when ECW was closed and WWE subsequently purchased its assets. WWE relaunched ECW as a WWE brand in June 2006 with the title being recommissioned and designated as the ECW brand's world title. The brand would continue to operate until February 16, 2010, rendering the title inactive.

The championship was generally contested in professional wrestling matches, in which participants execute scripted finishes rather than contend in direct competition. All title changes have occurred at ECW or WWE—promoted events thus far. The inaugural champion was Jimmy Snuka, who defeated Salvatore Bellomo in a tournament final on April 25, 1992 to become the first NWA-ECW Heavyweight Champion. WWE, however, does not recognize NWA-ECW Heavyweight Championship reigns. Instead they recognize Shane Douglas' second reign, which originally began on March 26, 1994, but is recognized as starting on August 27, 1994—the same day the championship was renamed the ECW World Heavyweight Championship—as the inception of the title's history. The Sandman holds the record for most reigns, with five. At 406 days, Douglas' fourth reign is the longest in the title's history. Ezekiel Jackson's only reign was the shortest in the history of the title as it was retired as soon as he won it. He defeated the previous champion, Christian, on February 16, 2010 at an ECW television taping event. Overall, there have been 49 reigns shared between 32 wrestlers, with one vacancy, and 2 deactivations.

Read more about List Of ECW World Heavyweight Champions:  Title History, List of Combined Reigns

Famous quotes containing the words list of, champions, list and/or world:

    Love’s boat has been shattered against the life of everyday. You and I are quits, and it’s useless to draw up a list of mutual hurts, sorrows, and pains.
    Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893–1930)

    Did all the lets and bars appear
    To every just or larger end,
    Whence should come the trust and cheer?
    Youth must its ignorant impulse lend—
    Age finds place in the rear.
    All wars are boyish, and are fought by boys,
    The champions and enthusiasts of the state:
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)

    All is possible,
    Who so list believe;
    Trust therefore first, and after preve,
    As men wed ladies by license and leave,
    All is possible.
    Sir Thomas Wyatt (1503?–1542)

    Unbreachable the fort
    Of the long-batter’d world uplifts its wall;
    And strange and vain the earthly turmoil grows,
    And near and real the charm of thy repose,
    And night as welcome as a friend would fall.
    Matthew Arnold (1822–1888)