Legislative Districts of North Cotabato

Legislative Districts Of North Cotabato

The Legislative Districts of Cotabato, namely the first and second districts are the representations of the Province of Cotabato in the Philippine House of Representatives. Cotabato was part of the representation of Mindanao and Sulu from 1916 to 1935, when it was organized as a lone district, which included South Cotabato until 1965, and the provinces of Maguindanao and Sultan Kudarat until 1972. It became part of the representation of Region XII from 1978 to 1984. It regained its own representations in the Regular Batasang Pambansa in 1984 where it elected 2 assemblymen at-large. In 1986, it was divided into two legislative districts. On September 14, 2012 president Benigno Aquino III sign the law creating the three legislative district of Cotabato.

Read more about Legislative Districts Of North Cotabato:  Legislative District, Lone District (defunct)

Famous quotes containing the words north, districts and/or legislative:

    Civilization must be destroyed. The hairy saints
    Of the North have earned this crumb by their complaints.
    Wallace Stevens (1879–1955)

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)

    The dignity and stability of government in all its branches, the morals of the people, and every blessing of society, depend so much upon an upright and skilful administration of justice, that the judicial power ought to be distinct from both the legislative and executive, and independent upon both, that so it may be a check upon both, as both should be checks upon that.
    Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826)