Komagata Maru Incident

Komagata Maru Incident

The Komagata Maru incident involved a Japanese steamship, the Komagata Maru, that sailed from Hong Kong to Shanghai, China; Yokohama, Japan; and then to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, in 1914, carrying 376 passengers from Punjab, India. Of them 20 were admitted to Canada, but the 356 other passengers were not allowed to land in Canada, and the ship was forced to return to India. The passengers consisted of 340 Sikhs, 24 Muslims, and 12 Hindus, all British subjects. This was one of several incidents in the history of early 20th century involving exclusion laws in both Canada and the United States designed to keep out immigrants of only Asian origin.

Read more about Komagata Maru Incident:  Immigration Controls in Canada, Gurdit Singh's Initial Idea, Significance

Other articles related to "komagata maru incident, komagata maru, incident":

Sohan Singh Bhakna - Ghadar Conspiracy
... The inflammatory passions surrounding the Komagata Maru incident helped the Ghadarite cause, and Ghadar leaders including Sohan Singh, Barkatullah and Taraknath ... SS Namsang at the outbreak of the war, in the wake of the Komagata Maru incidence to organise and direct the rebellion from India ...
Komagata Maru Incident - Legacy - Media
... The first play in Canada based on the incident was The Komagata Maru Incident, written by Sharon Pollock and presented in January 1976 ... Ajmer Rode wrote the play Komagata Maru based on the incident in 1984 ... to examine the events surrounding the turning away of the Komagata Maru ...
Canadian Sikhism - History - Early Immigration - The Komagata Maru Incident
... achieve his goal, Gurdit Singh purchased the Komagata Maru, a Japanese vessel ... The Komagata Maru arrived in Calcutta, India on September 26 ... This incident became known as the Budge Budge Riot ...

Famous quotes containing the word incident:

    In the extent and proper structure of the Union, therefore, we behold a republican remedy for the diseases most incident to republican government.
    James Madison (1751–1836)