Katholieke Universiteit Leuven - Honorary Doctorates

Honorary Doctorates

Notable recipients of honorary doctorates at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven include:

  • Roger Penrose (2005), professor in Mathematical Physics, University of Oxford
  • Mario Vargas Llosa (2003), Peruvian writer
  • Carla Del Ponte (2002), former Chief prosecutor of two United Nations international criminal law tribunals
  • Alan Greenspan (1997), economist, former chairman of the Board of Governors of the US Federal Reserve
  • Helmut Kohl (1996), former Chancellor of Germany
  • Jacques Derrida, French philosopher
  • Nadine Gordimer (1980), South African author, Booker Prize 1974, Nobel Prize in Literature 1991
  • Helmut Schmidt (1983), former Chancellor of Germany
  • Martha Nussbaum (1997), American philosopher, University of Chicago
  • Oscar Arnulfo Romero, archbishop of San Salvador (El Salvador), human rights activist
  • Patriarch Bartholomew I of Constantinople (1996)
  • Mary Robinson (2000), former President of Ireland
  • Manuel Castells (2004), Professor of Sociology, Open University of Catalonia, University of Southern California
  • Thomas S. Popkewitz (2004), professor of curriculum theory, University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Education
  • Roberto Benigni (2007), Italian actor, comedian, screenwriter and director of film, theatre and television.
  • Jared Diamond (2008), professor of Geography and Physiology, UCLA
  • Dirk Obbink, Lecturer in Papyrology and Greek Literature at Oxford University and the head of the Oxyrhynchus Papyri Project.
  • John Braithwaite (2008), Australian criminologist (application of the idea of restorative justice to business regulation and peacebuilding
  • Timothy Garton Ash (2011), British historian and Professor of European Studies, University of Oxford
  • Rowan Williams (2011), Archbishop of Canterbury.
  • Christine Lagarde (2012), Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Read more about this topic:  Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Other articles related to "honorary doctorates, honorary, doctorate, doctorates":

Dawkin - Awards and Recognition
... He holds honorary doctorates in science from the University of Huddersfield, University of Westminster, Durham University, the University of Hull, the ... He also holds honorary doctorates of letters from the University of St Andrews and the Australian National University (HonLittD, 1996), and was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of. 2010, Dawkins was named to the Freedom From Religion Foundation's Honorary Board of distinguished achievers ...
List Of Honorary Degrees - Honorary Doctorates
... Honorary Doctor of Arts Hon ... Honorary Doctor of Arts and Humane Letters Hon ... Honorary Doctor of Business Hon ...
Academic Dress Of Universities In Queensland, Australia - James Cook University - Robes
... All Doctorate holders wear royal blue Cambridge doctorate gowns ... Professional Doctorates wear gowns with facings and linings in red ... Doctorates of Philosophy wear gowns with facings and linings of red faille ...